The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Massachusetts: State Auditors

Massachusetts State Auditors, 1849-2002 (May be incomplete!)
David Wilder, Jr. 1849-54 Joseph Mitchell 1854-55 Stephen N. Gifford 1855-56 Chandler R. Ransom 1856-58 Charles White 1858-61 Levi Reed 1861-65 Julius L. Clarke 1865-66 Henry S. Briggs 1866-70 Charles Endicott 1870-76 Julius L. Clarke 1876-79 Charles R. Ladd 1879-91 William D. T. Trefry 1891-92 John W. Kimball 1892-1901 Henry E. Turner 1901-11 John E. White 1911-14 Frank H. Pope 1914-15 Alonzo B. Cook 1915-23 Francis X. Hurley 1930 Thomas H. Buckley 1935-39

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1865 Dec 20: Levi Reed, resigned.
  • 1879 May 5: Julius L. Clarke, resigned.
  • 1892: Boardman Hall (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894: Wilbur M. Purrington (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1898: Walter E. Sanford (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1899: Walter L. Ramsdell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1904 Nov 8: Henry E. Turner (Rep), elected; Francis X. Tetrault (Dem), defeated; Charles Stevens (Socialist), defeated; Walter J. Hoar (Socialist Labor), defeated; Charles E. Burnham (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Henry E. Turner (Rep), elected; Patrick J. Ashe (Dem), defeated; Ambrose Miles (Socialist), defeated; Herbert B. Griffin, defeated; E. O. Fredrik Hansson, defeated.
  • 1906: Thomas L. Hisgen (Dem & Independence League), defeated.
  • 1911 Jun 29: Henry E. Turner, died in office.
  • 1919: Arthur J. B. Cartier (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Alice E. Cram (Dem), elected.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Alonzo B. Cook (Rep), elected; Alice E. Cram (Dem), defeated; Edith M. Williams (Socialist), defeated; John W. Aiken (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Thomas J. Buckley (Dem), elected; Russell A. Wood (Rep), defeated; Francis A. Votano (Socialist Labor), defeated; Robert A. Simmons (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Thomas J. Buckley (Dem), elected; Thomas H. Adams (Rep), defeated; Arne A. Sortell (Socialist Labor), defeated; John B. Lauder (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: A. Joseph DeNucci (Dem), elected; John James Xenakis (Ind), defeated; Kamal Jain (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]