The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Essex County

Politicians who died in Essex County

  Essex County (no city given): Francis C. Florini, 2008
  Andover: Jane Pierce, 1863 — Amos Abbott, 1868 — Marcus Morton, 1891 — William S. Knox, 1914
  Beverly: Nathan Dane, 1835 — Henry Cabot Lodge, Jr., 1985
  Danvers: Samuel Holten, 1816
  Essex: Richard M. Russell, 1977
  Georgetown: Frank A. Pike, 1982
  Gloucester: A. Piatt Andrew, Jr., 1936 — John Hays Hammond, 1936 — Bennett Champ Clark, 1954 — George F. Booth, 1955 — Walworth Barbour, 1982 — Benjamin A. Smith II, 1991 — James B. Pearson, 2009
  Hamilton: Manasseh Cutler, 1823
  Haverhill: Bailey Bartlett, 1830 — Leonard White, 1849 — James H. Duncan, 1869 — William H. Moody, 1917 — Lot F. McNamara, 1920 — Ira A. Abbott, 1921 — George F. McNamara, 1937 — Gladys S. McKeigue, 1972 — Raymond V. McNamara, 1974 — John R. McCarthy, 2002
  Ipswich: James Appleton, 1862
  Lawrence: Andrew Coolidge Stone, 1905 — Robert S. Maloney, 1934 — Thomas J. Lane, 1994
  Lynn: Edward S. Davis, 1887 — James N. Buffum, 1887 — Samuel M. Bubier, 1894 — E. Knowlton Fogg, 1900 — Elihu B. Hayes, 1903 — Peter M. Neal, 1908 — George H. Newhall, 1923 — William P. Connery, Sr., 1928 — M. Henry Wall, 1970
  Magnolia, Gloucester: Jacob D. Cox, 1900
  Manchester: James McMillan, 1902 — William Lawrence Saltonstall, 2009
  Marblehead: Frank G. Macomber, 1941 — Katherine G. Howard, 1986
  Methuen: Harry A. Hanbury, 1940
  Middleton: Frederick S. Deitrick, 1948
  Nahant: Amos A. Lawrence, 1886 — Theodore Lyman, 1897 — Horace Gray, 1902 — Walter H. Creamer, 1937 — John P. Nields, 1943 — Joseph J. Corbett, 1949
  Newburyport: Theophilus Bradbury, 1803 — Matthew Thornton, 1803 — Jeremiah Nelson, 1838 — Caleb Cushing, 1879
  Prides Crossing, Beverly: William Caleb Loring, 1930 — Julius G. Lay, 1939
  Salem: Benjamin Goodhue, 1814 — Timothy Pickering, 1829 — Benjamin Pickman, Jr., 1843 — Leverett Saltonstall, 1845 — Nathaniel Silsbee, 1850 — David Pingree, 1863 — Joseph S. Cabot, 1874 — Charles W. Upham, 1875 — Samuel Calley, 1883 — George B. Loring, 1891 — Joseph P. Fessenden, 1909 — George R. Jewett, 1937 — Nicholas Mavroules, 2003
  South Danvers (now Peabody): Daniel P. King, 1850
   See also Massachusetts deathplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ES-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]