The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Barnstable County

Barnstable County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Barnstable County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Barnstable County: [none currently in database]

Barnstable County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Alexander Baxter — S. B. Phinney
   1916, St. Louis: Thomas C. Thacher
   1924, New York: Willard E. Boyden — John A. Cheval — Thomas F. Kelleher — Walter Welsh
   1928, Houston: Willard E. Boyden
   1936, Philadelphia: Charles C. Paine
   1940, Chicago: Henry L. Murphy — Charles C. Paine
   1944, Chicago: Vincent O'Neil
   1952, Chicago: Charles H. McGrath
   1960, Los Angeles: Robert F. Kennedy — Charles H. McGrath
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert W. MacDonald — James H. Smith — James A. Williams
   1972, Miami Beach: Sharon R. Leonard — Caroline J. Stouffer — Donna Maria E. White
   1980, New York: Michael Ford — Mary Anne Grafton-Rodgers — Andrew Kamarck — Paul G. Kirk, Jr. — Dorothy S. O'Donnell — Charlotte Stiefel — Janette Wise
   1996, Chicago: Paul G. Kirk, Jr. — Philip F. Mackey, Jr.
   2000, Los Angeles: Paul G. Kirk, Jr.
   2004, Boston: Thelma Goldstein — Paul G. Kirk, Jr.
   2008, Denver: Samantha Dallaire — Elaine C. Kamarck — Paul G. Kirk, Jr. — Kathleen Singletary — Eric T. Turkington
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Z. D. Bassett
   1860, Chicago: Joseph M. Day
   1864, Baltimore: George Marston
   1888, Chicago: Samuel Fessenden
   1896, St. Louis: Walter O. Luscomb — Walter I. Rich
   1900, Philadelphia: Chester Snow
   1904, Chicago: Robert A. Hammond
   1908, Chicago: Eben S. S. Keith
   1912, Chicago: William A. Nye
   1916, Chicago: Charles L. Gifford — Eben S. S. Keith
   1920, Chicago: Eben S. S. Keith — Thomas Otis
   1924, Cleveland: Eben S. S. Keith — Thomas Otis
   1928, Kansas City: Clifford L. Hubbard
   1944, Chicago: Robert E. French
   1948, Philadelphia: Harry B. Albro
   1952, Chicago: Gladys P. Swift
   1956, San Francisco: Constance C. Hopkins
   1972, Miami Beach: Esther C. Tsiknas
   1988, New Orleans: Hugo L. Barnet — John L. Bryan — Bradford M. Kimball — David G. Neal — Ernest Virgilio
   2004, New York: James M. Cummings — Shirley A. Gomes
   2008, St. Paul: Mike Crossen — Doug Dexter — John Harris — Jeff Perry — Cynthia Stead
   2012, Tampa: Judith Crocker — James M. Cummings — Francis Manzelli — Barbara McCoy — Jeff Perry — Jennifer Wilson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/BA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]