The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Louisiana: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Louisiana State Supreme Court, 1821-1980 (May be incomplete!)
Alexander Porter as of 1821-33 Henry A. Bullard 1834 Rice Garland as of 1840-46 William Dunbar as of 1852-53 Thomas Courtland Manning as of 1864-65 James T. Taliaferro 1868-76 John Edwards Leonard 1876 William Brainerd Spencer 1877-80 William Mallory Levy 1879 Edward Douglass White as of 1879-80 Henry A. Lazarus as of 1880 Thomas Courtland Manning as of 1882-86 Samuel D. McEnery 1888-97 Charles E. Fenner 1889-93 Felix P. Poché 1889-90 Lynn B. Watkins 1889-1901 Joseph A. Breaux 1890-1904 Charles Parlange 1893-94 Henry C. Miller 1894-99 Newton C. Blanchard 1897-1903 Frank A. Monroe 1899-1904 Olivier O. Provosty 1901-04 Alfred D. Land 1903-12 Francis T. Nicholls 1904-11 Walter B. Sommerville 1911-16 Winston Overton 1931-34 Robert F. Kennon as of 1945-47 Rene A. Viosca 1959-60 John Allen Dixon, Jr. as of 1971-80 Peter Hill Beer as of 1978-79 Edwin Edwards as of 1980

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1893 Oct 1: Charles E. Fenner, resigned.
  • 1893 Oct 4: Charles Parlange, appointed.
  • 1894: Charles Parlange, resigned; Henry C. Miller, appointed.
  • 1897 Mar 4: Samuel D. McEnery, resigned; Newton C. Blanchard, appointed.
  • 1899 Mar 4: Henry C. Miller, died in office.
  • 1899 Mar 22: Frank A. Monroe, appointed.
  • 1901 Mar 2: Lynn B. Watkins, died in office.
  • 1901 Mar 16: Olivier O. Provosty, appointed.
  • 1903: Newton C. Blanchard, resigned.
  • 1903 Oct 17: Alfred D. Land, appointed.
  • 1910: Luther E. Hall, elected.
  • 1911 Mar 18: Francis T. Nicholls, resigned.
  • 1934 Sep 9: Winston Overton, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]