The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
East Baton Rouge Parish

East Baton Rouge Parish Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in East Baton Rouge Parish: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in East Baton Rouge Parish: [none currently in database]

East Baton Rouge Parish Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: James A. McHatton
   1916, St. Louis: Wade Bynum
   1920, San Francisco: B. B. Taylor
   1924, New York: Henry L. Fuqua — Charles P. Manship
   1928, Houston: Eugene Cazedessus
   1936, Philadelphia: Frank M. Odom — Joseph P. Skelly
   1940, Chicago: Steve Alford — Mrs. Sam H. Jones — John Fred Odom — Jared Y. Sanders, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Alice B. Conner — John Fred Odom — Jared Y. Sanders, Jr. — Louis A. Welch — F. J. Whitehead
   1948, Philadelphia: A. C. Lewis, Jr. — Jesse L. Webb, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: George H. Foster — Joe W. Sanders
   1956, Chicago: Emile J. Bourg — J. D. DeBlieux — Margaret Dixon — Rufus D. Hayes — Aubrey B. Hirsch — Elayn Hunt — Blanche R. Long — Frank M. Odom — Jesse L. Webb, Sr.
   1960, Los Angeles: Jack P. F. Gremillion — Blanche R. Long — Russell B. Long — Jesse L. Webb, Sr.
   1964, Atlantic City: J. D. DeBlieux
   1968, Chicago: Acie Belton — Emile J. Bourg — Victor Bussie — J. D. DeBlieux — Gordon Flors — Leon Gary — Sarah Jones — Ted L. Jones — Russell B. Long — Frank M. Odom — Jesse L. Webb, Sr.
   1996, Chicago: Jesse H. Bankston — Jason Bolt — James J. Brady — James H. Brown, Jr. — Fran Bussie — Kenneth A. Duncan — Wilson Fields — Kip Holden — Richard P. Ieyoub — Ruth G. Linecum — Elizabeth O. Powers — Nina Schulman — W. T. Winfield — Mary E. Wisham
   2000, Los Angeles: Kip Holden
   2004, Boston: Patsy Arceneaux — Jonathan Augustine — Francis Beck — Fran Bussie — Charlotte Cantwell — Julie Cherry — Charles Foti — Kip Holden — Ben L. Jeffers — Jerry McKernan — Bob Odom — Ty Roberts — Michael D. Skinner — Ernest Stephens — Joseph Stone — Christopher Whittington — Robert Wooley
   2008, Denver: Patsy Arceneaux — Larry S. Bankston — Julie Cherry — Darlene Fields — Ben L. Jeffers — Joseph Stone — Christopher Whittington — W. T. Winfield
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: B. V. Baranco — J. H. Burch
   1900, Philadelphia: B. V. Baranco
   1908, Chicago: B. V. Baranco — Michael Winfield
   1912, Chicago: B. V. Baranco
   1916, Chicago: H. J. Allen — B. V. Baranco — Frank E. Posey
   1920, Chicago: B. V. Baranco
   1924, Cleveland: B. V. Baranco
   1932, Chicago: Tom W. Dutton
   1936, Cleveland: Mrs. Tom W. Dutton
   1940, Philadelphia: Frank B. Lower — George J. Reilley
   1944, Chicago: J. E. Perkins — George J. Reilley
   1948, Philadelphia: Carr K. Taylor — Marie Louise Taylor
   1952, Chicago: Harrison G. Bagwell — Charles H. Dillemuth — Virgil T. Jackson
   1956, San Francisco: Virgil T. Jackson — Nealon Stracener
   1960, Chicago: Harrison G. Bagwell — Charles H. Dillemuth — Francis C. Grevemberg — Nealon Stracener
   1964, San Francisco: Morton C. Blackwell — Edward T. L. Borie — James H. Boyce — Floyd O. Crawford — Louis Mayer
   1972, Miami Beach: Patricia S. Lindh — Patricia Miller — Frank Millican
   1988, New Orleans: Jefferson Angers — Richard H. Baker — Durward Casteel — Miller D. Dial — E. Clark Gaudin — Paul Hardy — David W. Loveless — Ann H. Mahoney
   2004, New York: Kirt Bennett — Charlie Davis — Richard Edmonds — Carey R. Holliday — Stephen P. Maher — Pat Templeton
   2008, St. Paul: Pat Bergeron — Michael Chittom — Jason P. Dore — Kathy Edgeworth — Richard Phillip Edmonds III — Bryan Jeansonne — Daniel G. Kyle — Jay Lyles — Chadwick Melder — James Quinn — Ricky Roberie — Charles Roemer III — S. Scott Wilfong — Ellen Theresa Wray-Davis
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/LA/EB-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]