The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Kentucky

U.S. District Judges for Kentucky, 1789-1923 (may be incomplete!)
Harry Innes 1789-1816 John Boyle 1827-34 Thomas B. Monroe 1834-61 Bland Ballard 1861-79 William Hercules Hays 1879-80 John W. Barr 1880-99 Walter Evans 1899-1923

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1816 Sep 20: Harry Innes, died in office.
  • 1834 Jan 28: John Boyle, died in office.
  • 1861 Sep 18: Thomas B. Monroe, resigned.
  • 1879 Jul 29: Bland Ballard, died in office.
  • 1880 Mar 7: William Hercules Hays, died in office.
  • 1899 Feb 21: John W. Barr, retired.
  • 1923 Dec 30: Walter Evans, died in office.

    U.S. District Judges for the Eastern District of Kentucky, 1901-2013 (may be incomplete!)
    Andrew McConnell January Cochran 1901-34 Mac Swinford 1937-75 Bernard T. Moynahan, Jr. 1963-84 H. David Hermansdorfer 1972-81 Eugene E. Siler, Jr. 1975-91 Scott Elgin Reed 1979-88 William Odis Bertelsman 1979- G. Wix Unthank 1980-88 Karl Spillman Forester 1988-2005 Jennifer B. Coffman 1993-2013 David L. Bunning 2002-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1934 Jun 12: Andrew McConnell January Cochran, died in office.
  • 1975 Feb 3: Mac Swinford, died in office.
  • 1981 Jan 31: H. David Hermansdorfer, resigned.
  • 1984 Sep 30: Bernard T. Moynahan, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1988 Jun 14: G. Wix Unthank, took senior status.
  • 1988 Aug 1: Scott Elgin Reed, took senior status.
  • 2005 May 2: Karl Spillman Forester, took senior status.
  • 2013 Jan 8: Jennifer B. Coffman, retired.

    U.S. District Judges for the Western District of Kentucky, 1924-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Harwood Moorman 1924-25 Elwood Hamilton 1935-38 Mac Swinford 1937-75 Shackelford Miller, Jr. 1939-45 Roy M. Shelbourne 1946-64 Henry L. Brooks 1954-69 Rhodes Bratcher 1970-77 Charles M. Allen 1971-85 Eugene E. Siler, Jr. 1975-91 Edward Huggins Johnstone 1977-93 Thomas Austin Ballantine, Jr. 1977-91 Ronald E. Meredith 1985-94 Charles Ralph Simpson III 1986-2013 John Gilpin Heyburn II 1992-2014 Jennifer B. Coffman 1993-2013 Joseph H. McKinley, Jr. 1995- Gregory N. Stivers 2014- David Jason Hale 2014-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1964 Nov 1: Roy M. Shelbourne, took senior status.
  • 1975 Feb 3: Mac Swinford, died in office.
  • 1977 Jul 25: Rhodes Bratcher, died in office.
  • 1985 Oct 1: Charles M. Allen, took senior status.
  • 1991 Nov 26: Thomas Austin Ballantine, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1993 Oct 22: Edward Huggins Johnstone, took senior status.
  • 1994 Dec 1: Ronald E. Meredith, died in office.
  • 2013 Jan 8: Jennifer B. Coffman, retired.
  • 2013 Feb 1: Charles Ralph Simpson III, took senior status.
  • 2014 Apr 1: John Gilpin Heyburn II, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]