The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Kentucky

U.S. District Attorneys for Kentucky, 1789-1898 (may be incomplete!)
George Nicholas 1789 James Brown 1791 William Murry 1791-93 George Nicholas 1793 John Breckinridge 1793-94 William McClung 1794-96 William Clark 1796-1800 Joseph Hamilton Daviess 1800-06 George M. Bibb 1807-08 Robert Trimble 1813-16 George M. Bibb 1819-24 John J. Crittenden 1827-29 Thomas B. Monroe 1833-34 Lewis Sanders, Jr. 1834-38 P. S. Loughborough 1838-50 William H. Caperton 1850-53 C. C. Rogers 1853-61 Edward I. Bullock 1861 John Marshall Harlan 1861-63 Thomas E. Bramlette 1863 Joshua Tevis 1863-64 Benjamin H. Bristow 1866-70 Gabriel C. Wharton 1870-76 Hugh F. Finley 1876-77 Gabriel C. Wharton 1877-81 George M. Thomas 1881-85 John C. Wickliffe 1885-89 George W. Jolly 1889-94 William M. Smith 1894-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Kentucky, 1901-98 (may be incomplete!)
James H. Tinsley 1901-09 James N. Sharp 1909-11 Edwin P. Morrow 1911-14 Thomas D. Slattery 1914-21 Sawyer A. Smith 1921-33 Mac Swinford 1933-37 John T. Metcalf 1937-44 Claude P. Stephens 1944-53 Edwin R. Denney 1953-55 Henry J. Cook 1955-60 Jean L. Auxier 1960-61 Bernard T. Moynahan, Jr. 1961-63 George I. Cline 1963-70 Eugene E. Siler, Jr. 1970-75 Eldon L. Webb 1975-77 Patrick J. Molloy 1977-81 Joseph L. Famularo 1981 Louis DeFalaise 1981-91 Karen K. Caldwell 1991-94 Joseph L. Famularo 1994-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Kentucky, 1898-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Ruben D. Hill 1898-1906 George Du Relle 1906-14 Perry B. Miller 1914-19 W. Voris Gregory 1919-22 W. Sherman Ball 1922-27 Thomas Sparks, Jr. 1927-35 Bunk Gardner 1935-38 Eli H. Brown III 1938-45 David C. Walls 1945-53 Charles F. Wood 1953-54 J. Leonard Walker 1954-59 William B. Jones 1959-61 William E. Scent 1961-65 Boyce F. Martin, Jr. 1965 Ernest W. Rivers 1965-70 John T. Smith 1970 George J. Long, Jr. 1970-77 J. Albert Jones 1977-80 John L. Smith 1980-81 Alexander T. Taft, Jr. 1981 Ronald E. Meredith 1981-85 Alexander T. Taft, Jr. 1985-86 Joseph M. Whittle 1986-93 W. Michael Troop 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]