The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentucky: Secretaries of State

Kentucky Secretaries of State, 1792-2004 (May be incomplete!)
James Brown 1792-96 Harry Toulmin 1796-1804 John Rowan 1804-08 Jesse Bledsoe 1808-12 Martin D. Hardin 1812-16 Charles S. Todd 1816 John Pope 1816-19 Oliver G. Waggoner 1819-20 Cabell Breckinridge 1820-23 Thomas B. Monroe 1823-24 William T. Barry 1824-25 James C. Pickett 1825-28 George Robertson 1828 Thomas T. Crittenden 1828-32 John F. McCurdy 1832 Lewis Sanders, Jr. 1832-34 John J. Crittenden 1834-35 William Owsley 1835-36 Austin P. Cox 1836 James M. Bullock 1836-40 James Harlan 1840-44 Benjamin Hardin 1844-46 George B. Kinkead 1846-47 William D. Reed 1847-48 John W. Finnell 1848-51 David Meriwether 1851-52 James P. Metcalfe 1852-54 Grant Green 1854-55 Mason Brown 1855-59 Thomas B. Monroe, Jr. 1859-61 Nathaniel Gaither 1861-62 Daniel Carmichael Wickliffe 1862-63 E. L. Van Winkle 1863-66 John S. Van Winkle 1866-67 Samuel B. Churchill 1867-71 Andrew J. James 1871-72 George W. Craddock 1872-75 J. Stoddard Johnston 1875-79 Samuel B. Churchill 1879-80 James W. Blackburn 1880-83 James A. McKenzie 1883-87 George Madison Adams 1887-91 John W. Headley 1891-96 Charles Finley 1896-1900 Caleb Powers 1900 C. B. Hill 1900-04 H. V. McChesney 1904-08 Ben L. Bruner 1908-12 C. F. Crecelius 1912-16 James P. Lewis 1916-20 Fred A. Vaughan 1920-24 Emma G. Cromwell 1924-28 Ella Lewis 1928-32 Charles D. Arnett 1936-39 Charles K. O'Connell 1940 John Y. Brown III 1996-2000 Trey Grayson 2004

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1823 Sep 1: Cabell Breckinridge, died in office.
  • 1895: Charles Finley, elected.
  • 1935: Charles D. Arnett, elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Thelma L. Stovall (Dem), elected; Edwin E. Freshney (Rep), defeated; Andrew Johnson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: Drexell R. Davis (Dem), nominated; J. P. Sullivan (Dem), defeated in primary; Thelma Conway (Dem), defeated in primary; Ray Adkins (Dem), defeated in primary; Charles W. Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Drexell R. Davis (Dem), elected; Huda Jones (Rep), defeated.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Frances J. Mills (Dem), elected; Rowe Harper (Rep), defeated.
  • 1983 May 24: Ann E. Ross (Rep), nominated; William D. Blair (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Drexell R. Davis (Dem), elected; Ann E. Ross (Rep), defeated.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Bremer Ehrler (Dem), elected; Ronald L. Sanders (Rep), defeated.
  • 1995 May 23: Ed Logsdon (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]