The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentucky: Railroad Commissioners

Kentucky Railroad Commissioners, 1891-1987 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1925 May 30: Frank N. Burns, died in office.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Frank A. Stubblefield (Dem), elected unopposed. Frank L. McCarthy (Dem), elected unopposed. Walter J. Bailey (Dem), elected; Pleaz W. Mobley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: L. H. 'Dick' Frymire (Dem), nominated; Charles W. Peck (Dem), defeated in primary; Jerry L. Austin (Dem), defeated in primary; George Ellis Williams (Dem), defeated in primary; W. E. 'Tunney' Poore (Dem), defeated in primary; Henry Keeling (Dem), defeated in primary; Raymond C. Harper (Dem), defeated in primary; Volney Brien (Dem), defeated in primary; J. D. Darnell (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: L. H. 'Dick' Frymire (Dem), elected; Robert J. Bradley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Gene Smith (Dem), elected; Robert J. Bradley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: John W. Manning (Dem), nominated; Gene Spalding (Dem), defeated in primary; Wilbur Schu (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph K. Discher (Dem), defeated in primary; Glen W. Strickland (Dem), defeated in primary; Edward Bohannon (Dem), defeated in primary; John W. Rice (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: John W. Manning (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Henry Spalding (Dem), elected; Thomas Foster Rogers III (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: Jimmy Turner (Dem), nominated; Robert Damron (Dem), defeated in primary; Stirl Harris (Dem), defeated in primary; W. K. Keathley (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Jimmy Turner (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Jimmy Turner (Dem), elected; Monroe Baker (Rep), defeated.
  • 1983 Nov 8: William A. Bailey (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1987 Nov 3: William A. Bailey (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Henry Spalding (Dem), elected; Patricia K. Sullivan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Henry Spalding (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Jimmy Turner (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1987 Nov 3: J. E. Combs (Dem), elected; G. L. 'Dusty' Rhodes (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/rrco.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]