The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentucky: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Kentucky, 1800-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Alexander Scott Bullitt 1800-04 John Caldwell 1804 Thomas Posey 1806-08 Gabriel Slaughter 1808-12 Richard Hickman 1812-16 Gabriel Slaughter 1816 William T. Barry 1820-24 Robert B. McAfee 1824-28 John Breathitt 1828-32 James T. Morehead 1832-34 Charles A. Wickliffe 1836-39 Manlius Valerius Thomson 1840-44 Archibald Dixon 1844-48 John Larue Helm 1848-50 John B. Thompson 1852-53 James G. Hardy 1855-56 Linn Boyd 1859 Richard Taylor Jacob 1863-64 John W. Stevenson 1867 John G. Carlisle 1871-75 John C. Underwood 1875-79 James E. Cantrill 1879-83 James R. Hindman 1883-87 James William Bryan 1887-91 Mitchell Cary Alford 1891-95 William Jackson Worthington 1895-99 John Marshall 1899-1900 J. C. W. Beckham 1900 William P. Thorne 1903-07 William H. Cox 1907-11 Edward J. McDermott 1911-15 James D. Black 1915-19 S. Thruston Ballard 1919-23 Henry H. Denhardt 1923-27 James Breathitt, Jr. 1927-31 Albert B. Chandler 1931-35 Keen Johnson 1935-39 Rodes K. Myers 1939-43 Kenneth H. Tuggle 1943-47 Lawrence W. Wetherby 1947-50 Emerson Beauchamp 1951-55 Harry Lee Waterfield 1955-59 Wilson W. Wyatt 1959-63 Harry Lee Waterfield 1963-67 Wendell H. Ford 1967-71 John B. Breckinridge 1971 Julian M. Carroll 1971-74 Thelma L. Stovall 1975-79 Martha Layne Collins 1979-83 Steve Beshear 1983-87 Brereton C. Jones 1987-91 Paul E. Patton 1991-95 Steve Henry 1995- Jerry E. Abramson 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1804: John Caldwell, died in office.
  • 1828: Joseph R. Underwood, defeated.
  • 1836: Elijah Hise (Dem), defeated.
  • 1851: Robert Nelson Wickliffe (Dem), defeated.
  • 1856 Jul 16: James G. Hardy, died in office.
  • 1859 Dec 17: Linn Boyd, died in office.
  • 1867: Harrison Taylor, defeated.
  • 1871: George M. Thomas, defeated.
  • 1875: Robert Boyd, defeated.
  • 1879: Osmer Sage Deming, defeated.
  • 1907: William H. Cox (Rep), elected.
  • 1939: Jouett Ross Todd (Rep), defeated.
  • 1943: William H. May (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1943: Kenneth H. Tuggle (Rep), elected.
  • 1947: Charles H. Gartrell (Dem), defeated in primary; William H. May (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Harry Lee Waterfield (Dem), elected; Joe Eaton (Rep), defeated; C. L. Abel (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1963: John B. Breckinridge, defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: Thelma L. Stovall (Dem), nominated; Wayne T. Rutherford (Dem), defeated in primary; Thomas M. Ward (Dem), defeated in primary; William L. Sullivan (Dem), defeated in primary; Ewart W. Johnson (Dem), defeated in primary; Ed W. Hancock (Dem), defeated in primary; Ronald E. Butler (Dem), defeated in primary; James O. Day (Dem), defeated in primary; Charles A. Sweeney, Sr. (Dem), defeated in primary; Louis S. Grace (Dem), defeated in primary; Lyle L. Willis (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 May 27: Shirley W. Palmer-Ball (Rep), nominated; Bob Bersky (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Thelma L. Stovall (Dem), elected; Shirley W. Palmer-Ball (Rep), defeated.
  • 1979 May 29: Martha Layne Collins (Dem), nominated; William M. Cox (Dem), defeated in primary; Todd Hollenbach (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph W. Prather (Dem), defeated in primary; Richard H. Lewis (Dem), defeated in primary; Jim Vernon (Dem), defeated in primary; Charley T. Rowland (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1979 May 29: Harold Rogers (Rep), nominated; Granville Thomas (Rep), defeated in primary; Bob Bersky (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Martha Layne Collins (Dem), elected; Harold Rogers (Rep), defeated.
  • 1983 May 24: Alben W. Barkley II (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1983 May 24: Eugene P. Stuart (Rep), nominated; Nicholas D. McCubbin (Rep), defeated in primary; Tommy Klein (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Steve Beshear (Dem), elected; Eugene P. Stuart (Rep), defeated; Don Wiggins, Jr. (Consumers Lobby), defeated.
  • 1987 May 26: Brereton C. Jones (Dem), nominated; David L. Armstrong (Dem), defeated in primary; Paul E. Patton (Dem), defeated in primary; David E. Boswell (Dem), defeated in primary; Alice McDonald (Dem), defeated in primary; Wilton B. Cupp (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1987 May 26: Lawrence R. Webster (Rep), nominated; Tommy Klein (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Brereton C. Jones (Dem), elected; Lawrence R. Webster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1991 May 28: Tommy Klein (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]