The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentucky: State Attorneys General

Kentucky State Attorneys General, 1792-2019 (May be incomplete!)
George Nicholas 1792 William Murray 1792-93 John Breckinridge 1793-97 James Blair 1797-1820 Joseph M. White 1820 Benjamin Hardin 1820-21 Solomon P. Sharp 1821-25 Frederick W. S. Grayson 1825 J. W. Denny 1825-32 Charles S. Morehead 1832-38 Owen G. Cotes 1838-49 M. C. Johnson 1849 James Harlan 1849-59 Andrew M. James 1859-61 John Marshall Harlan 1861-65 John Rodman 1865-75 Thomas Moss 1875-79 P. Watt Hardin 1879-89 W. J. Hendricks 1889-96 William S. Taylor 1896-99 R. J. Breckinridge 1901-02 C. J. Pratt 1902-04 N. B. Hays 1904-08 James Breathitt 1908-12 James Garnett 1912-15 M. M. Logan 1916-17 Charles H. Morris 1917-20 Charles I. Dawson 1920-23 T. B. McGregor 1923 Frank E. Daugherty 1924-27 James W. Cammack 1927-31 Bailey P. Wootton 1932-36 Beverly M. Vincent 1936-37 Eldon S. Dummit 1944 Alvarado Erwin Funk 1948-52 John B. Breckinridge 1960-64 John B. Breckinridge 1968-72 Steve Beshear 1979-83 David L. Armstrong 1984-88 Ben Chandler 1996- Greg Stumbo 2004- Andy Beshear 2016-19

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1844: William S. Pilcher, defeated.
  • 1875: W. Cassius Goodloe (Rep), defeated.
  • 1891: Leonard J. Crawford (Rep), defeated.
  • 1939: Kenneth H. Tuggle (Rep), defeated.
  • 1951: J. Leonard Walker (Rep), defeated.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Joe M. Ferguson (Dem), elected; Ben R. Fowler (Rep), defeated.
  • 1975 May 27: Robert F. Stephens (Dem), nominated; Anthony M. Wilhoit (Dem), defeated in primary; Jimmy Don Robinson (Dem), defeated in primary; David L. Van Horn (Dem), defeated in primary; Arthur Samuel (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Robert F. Stephens (Dem), elected; Joseph M. Whittle (Rep), defeated.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Steve Beshear (Dem), elected; Ron Snyder (Rep), defeated.
  • 1983 May 24: James G. Weddle (Rep), nominated; Sam F. Kibbey (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1983 Nov 8: David L. Armstrong (Dem), elected; James G. Weddle (Rep), defeated.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Fred Cowan (Dem), elected; Christopher S. Combs (Rep), defeated.
  • 2003: Greg Stumbo (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]