The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Owen County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Owen County

Index to Locations

  • Monterey Monterey Masonic Cemetery
  • New Liberty New Liberty Cemetery
  • Owenton Odd Fellows Cemetery

    Monterey Masonic Cemetery
    Monterey, Owen County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Thomas Jefferson Hardin (1834-1906) — also known as Thomas J. Hardin — of Monterey, Owen County, Ky. Born October 19, 1834. Republican. Candidate for U.S. Representative from Kentucky 7th District, 1892, 1898; alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Kentucky, 1904. Died July 11, 1906 (age 71 years, 265 days). Interment at Monterey Masonic Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: Thomas Jefferson

    New Liberty Cemetery
    New Liberty, Owen County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      June Ward Gayle (1865-1942) — also known as June W. Gayle — of Owenton, Owen County, Ky. Born in New Liberty, Owen County, Ky., February 22, 1865. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Kentucky 7th District, 1900-01; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Kentucky, 1904 (member, Committee on Rules and Order of Business), 1920. Died in Owenton, Owen County, Ky., August 5, 1942 (age 77 years, 164 days). Interment at New Liberty Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Odd Fellows Cemetery
    Owenton, Owen County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Evan Evans Settle (1848-1899) — also known as Evan E. Settle — of Owenton, Owen County, Ky. Born in Kentucky, 1848. Democrat. Member of Kentucky state legislature, 1880; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Kentucky, 1888; U.S. Representative from Kentucky 7th District, 1897-99; died in office 1899. Died November 16, 1899 (age about 51 years). Interment at Odd Fellows Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/OW-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]