The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hopkins County

Hopkins County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Hopkins County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Hopkins County: [none currently in database]

Hopkins County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William Bradley
   1912, Baltimore: W. J. Cox
   1920, San Francisco: J. F. Gordon
   1924, New York: Mrs. J. F. Gordon
   1928, Houston: James R. Rash
   1932, Chicago: Fred Breshears — Mrs. Flem Gordon — Ruby Laffoon
   1940, Chicago: Ruby Laffoon
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Ruby Laffoon
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Ruby Laffoon
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. Ruby Laffoon
   1956, Chicago: William H. Kington — Mike Mills
   1960, Los Angeles: Mrs. Ruby Laffoon — Mary Lou Wright
   1964, Atlantic City: James F. Gordon
   1972, Miami Beach: William R. Whitledge
   1980, New York: John A. McCoy — Wendy Walker
   1996, Chicago: Sandra Higgins
   2000, Los Angeles: Sandra T. Higgins-Stinson
   2004, Boston: Marcus Little
   2008, Denver: Sandra T. Higgins-Stinson — Pat A. Vincent
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Thomas Randall
   1888, Chicago: T. W. Gardner
   1900, Philadelphia: W. P. Ross
   1908, Chicago: Will P. Scott
   1912, Chicago: J. B. Harvey
   1916, Chicago: Ben T. Robinson
   1924, Cleveland: Virgil Y. Moore
   1928, Kansas City: P. R. Cabbell
   1944, Chicago: W. W. Crick
   1972, Miami Beach: Sandra D. West
   2012, Tampa: Ben Waide

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/HO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]