The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fayette County

Fayette County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Fayette County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Fayette County (incomplete!): Leer Buckley, as of 1946

Fayette County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: John C. Breckinridge
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: James B. Beck
   1876, St. Louis: William C. P. Breckinridge
   1880, Cincinnati: William C. P. Breckinridge
   1920, San Francisco: Desha Breckinridge — Laura Clay
   1924, New York: S. A. Hally — G. Allison Holland — S. W. Wilson
   1928, Houston: Desha Breckinridge
   1932, Chicago: Desha Breckinridge
   1936, Philadelphia: John Y. Brown, Sr. — Samuel H. Caddy
   1940, Chicago: Samuel H. Caddy — John Skain
   1944, Chicago: John Skain
   1948, Philadelphia: John Y. Brown, Sr. — Bruce Isaacs — Harry Jones — W. E. McGurk — Mrs. R. L. Northcutt — Thomas R. Underwood
   1952, Chicago: Samuel H. Caddy — Mrs. Cecil Cantrill — W. B. Isaacs, Sr. — J. C. Smith
   1956, Chicago: Frazer D. LeBus — Ernest Thompson
   1960, Los Angeles: John B. Breckinridge — Mrs. Ben Combs — Richard R. Moloney, Sr.
   1964, Atlantic City: John Y. Brown, Sr. — Vera Combs — William Cox — W. S. Dotson — Foster Ockerman
   1972, Miami Beach: Martha T. Barth — Eugene F. Land — Jack L. Miller — Mrs. Oteria L. O'Rear — Nancy T. Ray — Timothy Henry Taylor — Polly G. Vicars
   1980, New York: Robert A. Babbage, Jr. — Ann S. Bardwell — John Y. Brown, Jr. — John Y. Brown, Sr. — Jeanne Dawahare — Laurel Lee Falmlen — William Gordon Kenton — Evelyn M. Krislov — Brian Lunde — Billye Pope — Ernesto Scorsone — Carol J. Wright
   1996, Chicago: Sandra Frank — W. Terry McBrayer — Marjorie L. Robbins
   2000, Los Angeles: W. Terry McBrayer
   2004, Boston: Keisha Carter — Diane G. Lawless — Donald Lyons — W. Terry McBrayer — Jennifer Miller — Jonathan S. Miller — Justin Morgan — Betsy B. Nowland-Curry — James Palumbo — Kathy Stein
   2008, Denver: Geoffrey F. Dunn — Colmon Elridge III — W. Terry McBrayer — Ruth A. Palumbo — Reginald L. Thomas
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: W. Cassius Goodloe
   1880, Chicago: H. C. Brennan — John H. Jackson — George Stoll, Jr.
   1884, Chicago: W. Cassius Goodloe — Henry Scroggins — Richard P. Stoll
   1888, Chicago: George Denny — W. Cassius Goodloe
   1896, St. Louis: Edward Chenault — Leslie Combs — George Denny — Richard P. Stoll
   1900, Philadelphia: George Denny — Richard P. Stoll
   1904, Chicago: Leslie Combs
   1908, Chicago: Charles H. Kerr — German B. Miller
   1912, Chicago: Stafford Campbell — Edward Chenault — Richard C. Stoll
   1916, Chicago: E. W. Chenault — John H. Hardwick — Richard C. Stoll
   1920, Chicago: George F. David — Thomas M. Owsley — Richard C. Stoll
   1924, Cleveland: George F. David — John G. Stoll
   1928, Kansas City: E. H. Fuller — Mrs. S. J. Roberts
   1932, Chicago: A. A. Bablitz — W. H. Ballard — James Park
   1936, Cleveland: Mrs. Beatty H. Buehler — James Park — King Swope
   1940, Philadelphia: King Swope
   1944, Chicago: W. H. Ballard — King Swope
   1948, Philadelphia: Eldon S. Dummit — William L. Wallace
   1952, Chicago: William L. Wallace — J. Stephen Watkins
   1956, San Francisco: Wallace Jones — William L. Wallace — J. Stephen Watkins
   1960, Chicago: Catherine C. Cowart — Fred B. Wachs — William L. Wallace — J. Stephen Watkins
   1972, Miami Beach: Catherine C. Cowart — Claire I. Epstein — John H. Kerr, Jr. — Shirley McVay — Louie B. Nunn — O. M. Travis, Jr.
   2004, New York: Scott Crosbie — Daniel Groves — Alice Forgy Kerr — Spencer D. Noe — John Roach
   2008, St. Paul: Andy Barr — Matt Bassett — Daniel M. Bayens — Ashley B. Bruggeman — Colleen B. Chaney — Kelly G. Knight — D. Eric Lycan — Steve Manning — Jay McChord — Carol G. Rogers — Kevin T. Williams — Shirley Wiseman
   2012, Tampa: Andy Barr — Bill Bishop — Ashley B. Bruggeman — K. C. Crosbie — Katherine Gornik — Holly L. Harris-VonLuehrte — Kelly G. Knight — D. Eric Lycan — Basha Roberts — Steve Robertson — Carol G. Rogers — Tres Watson — Amy Wickliffe — Shirley Wiseman
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Leslie Combs — James Shelby
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/FA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]