The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Daviess County

Daviess County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Daviess County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Daviess County: [none currently in database]

Daviess County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Thomas Clay McCreery
   1908, Denver: Josh T. Griffith
   1912, Baltimore: La Vega Clements
   1916, St. Louis: Tandy L. Harl — B. J. Milton
   1920, San Francisco: Josh T. Griffith
   1928, Houston: Josh T. Griffith
   1932, Chicago: Glover H. Cary — Urey Woodson
   1936, Philadelphia: Sid Griffith
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. E. M. Ford
   1952, Chicago: V. J. Steele
   1956, Chicago: Lawrence Hager, Sr. — William Maglinger — V. J. Steele
   1960, Los Angeles: J. R. Miller
   1964, Atlantic City: Wendell H. Ford
   1972, Miami Beach: Richard E. Bowlds — Wendell H. Ford — Morton J. Holbrook — Dola Mauzy — J. R. Miller
   1980, New York: Sharon Bostick Fisher — Larry E. Moore
   1996, Chicago: Kenneth P. Bosley — William R. Dexter — Wendell H. Ford — Donna Haynes
   2000, Los Angeles: Donna Haynes
   2004, Boston: Moretta L. Bosley — Donna Haynes — Jason Sauer
   2008, Denver: Moretta L. Bosley — Charles E. Moore
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: J. T. Kimbly
   1884, Chicago: Edwin Farley — J. Z. Moore
   1888, Chicago: George W. Jolly
   1896, St. Louis: T. W. Gardner — Henry Griffith Overstreet — S. E. Smith
   1900, Philadelphia: Edward T. Franks
   1904, Chicago: J. M. Peters
   1916, Chicago: Edward T. Franks
   1920, Chicago: Gray Haynes
   1924, Cleveland: Lawson Reno
   1928, Kansas City: Onis L. Greer
   1932, Chicago: Claude E. Smith
   1940, Philadelphia: A. D. Kirk
   1944, Chicago: Richard H. Slack
   1948, Philadelphia: David C. Brodie
   1952, Chicago: S. L. Barker
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. Jack A. Connor — Onis L. Greer
   1972, Miami Beach: George H. Greer
   2008, St. Paul: Todd Inman — Robin Mercer
   2012, Tampa: Todd Inman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/DA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]