The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kansas: State Treasurers

Kansas State Treasurers, 1859-2004 (May be incomplete!)
Hartwin Rush Dutton 1861-63 William Spriggs 1863-67 Martin Anderson 1867-69 George Graham 1869-71 Josiah E. Hayes 1871-74 John Francis 1874-75 Samuel Lappin 1875 John Francis 1875-83 Samuel T. Howe 1883-87 James William Hamilton 1887-90 William Sims 1890 Solomon G. Stover 1891-93 William Henry Biddle 1893-95 Otis L. Atherton 1895-97 David H. Heflebower 1897-99 Frank E. Grimes 1899-1903 Thomas T. Kelly 1903-07 Mark Tulley 1907-13 Earl Akers 1913-17 Walter L. Payne 1917-21 E. T. Thompson 1921-25 Carl R. White 1925-29 Tom B. Boyd 1929-33 William M. Jardine 1933-34 J. J. Rhodes 1934-38 Jibo Hewitt 1938-39 Walter E. Wilson 1939-45 Elmer T. Beck 1945-47 Richard T. Fadely 1947-59 George Hart 1959-61 Walter H. Peery 1961-73 Tom R. Van Sickle 1973-75 Joan Finney 1975-91 Sally Thompson 1991-98 Clyde Graeber 1998-99 Tim Shallenburger 1999-2003 Lynn Jenkins 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1859 Dec 6: William Tholen (Rep), elected, but never took office.
  • 1861 Mar 26: Hartwin Rush Dutton, appointed.
  • 1874 Apr 30: Josiah E. Hayes, resigned.
  • 1874 May 1: John Francis, appointed.
  • 1875 Dec 20: Samuel Lappin, resigned.
  • 1875 Dec 21: John Francis, appointed.
  • 1890 Mar 1: James William Hamilton, resigned; William Sims, appointed.
  • 1933 Oct 1: Tom B. Boyd, resigned.
  • 1933 Oct 2: William M. Jardine, appointed.
  • 1934 Apr 1: William M. Jardine, resigned.
  • 1934 Apr 2: J. J. Rhodes, appointed.
  • 1938 Oct 14: J. J. Rhodes, resigned; Jibo Hewitt, appointed.
  • 1945 Apr 7: Walter E. Wilson, died in office.
  • 1945 May 7: Elmer T. Beck, appointed.
  • 1998 Feb 27: Sally Thompson, resigned; Clyde Graeber, appointed.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Lynn Jenkins (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]