The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kansas: House Speakers

Speakers of the Kansas State House of Representatives, 1871-2004 (May be incomplete!)
Benjamin F. Simpson 1871 Edward H. Funston 1875 Charles E. Lobdell, Sr. 1895-97 George J. Barker 1901-02 J. T. Pringle 1903-04 Walter Roscoe Stubbs 1905-06 J. S. Simmons 1907-08 J. N. Dolley 1909-10 G. H. Buckman 1911-12 W. L. Brown 1913-14 Robert Stone 1915-16 A. M. Keene 1917-18 William P. Lambertson 1919-20 W. W. Harvey 1921-22 Charles E. Mann 1923-24 Clifford R. Hope 1925-26 John D. M. Hamilton 1927-28 John H. Myers 1929-30 Hal E. Harlan 1931-32 W. H. Vernon 1933-34 S. C. Bloss 1935-36 H. S. Buzick, Jr. 1937-38 E. A. Briles 1939-40 Clay C. Carper 1941-42 Paul R. Wunsch 1943-44 Frank L. Hagaman 1945-46 Frank B. Miller 1947-48 Dale M. Bryant 1949-50 Lawrence M. Gibson 1951-52 Charles D. Stough 1953-54 Robert H. Jennison 1955-56 Jess Taylor 1957-60 William L. Mitchell 1961-62 Charles Arthur 1963-64 Clyde Hill 1965-66 John J. Conard 1967-68 Calvin Strowig 1969-72 Duane S. McGill 1973-76 John W. Carlin 1977-78 Wendell E. Lady 1979-82 Mike Hayden 1983-86 James D. Braden 1987-90 Marvin Barkis 1991-94 Tim Shallenburger 1995-98 Robin Jennison 1999-2000 Kent Glasscock 2001-02 Doug Mays 2003-

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/spkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]