The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kansas: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Kansas State Supreme Court, 1870-2002 (May be incomplete!)
David Josiah Brewer as of 1870-84 William A. Johnston 1884-1903 D. M. Valentine 1889-93 S. H. Allen 1893-95 Edwin W. Cunningham as of 1901 Rousseau A. Burch 1902-35 Henry F. Mason 1903-27 Alfred W. Benson as of 1907-15 John S. Dawson as of 1915-31 John Marshall 1915-31 W. W. Harvey as of 1926-31 Richard J. Hopkins 1926-29 William Easton Hutchison 1927-31 William D. Jochems 1930 William A. Smith 1930-31 Edward R. Sloan 1931-33 Homer Hoch as of 1938-49 Jay S. Parker 1943- Edward F. Arn as of 1949-50 Harold R. Fatzer as of 1956 Fred Hall 1957 Robert H. Kaul as of 1965-77 Kay McFarland 1977- Tyler C. Lockett 1983- Donald L. Allegrucci 1987- Fred N. Six 1988- Bob Abbott 1990- Robert E. Davis 1993- Lawton R. Nuss 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1914: Edward C. Little, defeated.
  • 1927 May 4: Henry F. Mason, died in office.
  • 1927 May 12: William Easton Hutchison, appointed.
  • 1928: Walter Huxman, defeated.
  • 1929 Dec 27: Richard J. Hopkins, resigned.
  • 1930 Jan 4: William D. Jochems, appointed.
  • 1931 Mar 25: John Marshall, died in office.
  • 1931 Apr 6: Edward R. Sloan, appointed.
  • 1949 Jan 30: Homer Hoch, died in office.
  • 1950: Frank G. Theis, defeated.
  • 1977 Sep 19: Kay McFarland, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]