The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kansas: Secretaries of State

Kansas Secretaries of State, 1861-2012 (May be incomplete!)
John Winter Robinson 1861-62 Sanders R. Shepherd 1862-63 Warren Wirt Henry Lawrence 1863-65 Rinaldo Allen Barker 1865-69 Thomas Moonlight 1869-71 William Hillary Smallwood 1871-75 Thomas Horne Cavanaugh 1875-79 James Smith 1879-85 Edwin B. Allen 1885-89 William Higgins 1889-93 Russell Scott Osborn 1893-95 William Congdon Edwards 1895-97 William Eben Bush 1897-99 George A. Clark 1899-1903 Joel Randall Burrow 1903-07 Charles Eugene Denton 1907-11 Charles H. Sessions 1911-15 J. T. Botkin 1915-19 L. J. Pettijohn 1919-22 D. O. McCray 1922-23 Frank J. Ryan 1923-29 E. A. Cornell 1929-33 Frank J. Ryan 1933-49 Larry Ryan 1949-51 Paul R. Shanahan 1951-66 Elwill M. Shanahan 1966-78 Jack H. Brier 1978-87 Bill Graves 1987-95 Ron Thornburgh 1995- Kris Kobach 2012

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1862 Jul 28: John Winter Robinson, resigned.
  • 1886: Lorenzo Dow Lewelling, defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 11: L. J. Pettijohn, resigned.
  • 1922 Nov 14: D. O. McCray, appointed.
  • 1966 Apr 14: Paul R. Shanahan, died in office.
  • 1966 Apr 28: Elwill M. Shanahan, appointed.
  • 1978 May 10: Elwill M. Shanahan, retired.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]