The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Crawford County

Crawford County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Crawford County (incomplete!): Gene Garman, as of 2011

Republican Party chairs in Crawford County (incomplete!): Leah Mackey, as of 2011

Crawford County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Frank Comisky — Ben S. Gaitskell
   1916, St. Louis: John G. Miller
   1920, San Francisco: Herman L. Gees
   1924, New York: P. J. McGinley
   1928, Houston: Herman L. Gees
   1936, Philadelphia: Allen W. Sandidge
   1940, Chicago: Joseph Saia
   1944, Chicago: Robert S. Lemon — Joseph Saia
   1948, Philadelphia: Barnes Griffith
   1956, Chicago: D. J. Saia
   1960, Los Angeles: Joe Pucci — Joseph Saia
   1972, Miami Beach: D. J. Saia
   1984, San Francisco: Owen O'Hara
   2000, Los Angeles: Jim Barone
   2004, Boston: Beth Bradrick — Mark Peterson
Republican National Conventions:
   1888, Chicago: J. D. Barker
   1896, St. Louis: John Randolph
   1900, Philadelphia: Philip P. Campbell — O. F. Lewis
   1908, Chicago: J. T. Moore
   1916, Chicago: Daniel Spoonhour
   1920, Chicago: T. A. Curnow
   1924, Cleveland: J. T. Moore
   1928, Kansas City: Nick Simeon
   1932, Chicago: C. O. Pingry
   1936, Cleveland: Fred W. Brinkerhoff
   1944, Chicago: C. A. Burnett
   1948, Philadelphia: Fannie Duffy
   1956, San Francisco: William R. Hagman
   1960, Chicago: Joe Skubitz
   2004, New York: Charles Snow
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KS/CR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]