The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indiana: House Speakers

Speakers of the Indiana State House of Representatives, 1818-2002 (May be incomplete!)
Williamson Dunn 1818-20 William Graham 1820-21 Samuel Milroy 1821-22 David Hervey Maxwell 1823-24 John W. Davis 1832-33 Nathan B. Palmer 1833-34 Caleb B. Smith 1836 Thomas J. Henley 1840 John W. Davis 1841-42 Alexander Campbell Stevenson 1844-45 John Smith Simonson 1845-46 Ebenezer Dumont 1850-51 John W. Davis 1851-52 William H. English 1851-52 David Kilgore 1855 Ballard Smith 1857 Cyrus M. Allen 1861 John U. Pettit 1865 William Kirkpatrick Edwards 1873 William D. Bynum 1883 Mason Jenks Niblack 1889-91 Henry Corbin Pettit 1897 Harry G. Leslie 1925-27 James M. Knapp 1929 James M. Knapp 1939-41 Birch Bayh 1959-60 Otis R. Bowen 1967-72 John R. Gregg 1996-2002

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/spkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]