The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of South Bend, Indiana

Mayors of South Bend, 1865-2019 (may be incomplete!)
William G. George 1865-67 Louis Humphreys 1868-71 William Miller 1872-75 Alexander N. Thomas 1876-77 Lucius G. Tong 1878-79 Levi J. Ham 1880-83 George W. Loughman 1884-87 William H. Longley 1888-91 David R. Leeper 1892-93 David B. J. Schafer 1894-97 Schuyler Colfax, Jr. 1898-1901 Edward J. Fogarty 1902-07 George W. Freyermuth as of 1937 Jesse I. Pavey 1939-44 George A. Schock as of 1950-51 John A. Scott as of 1952-55 Edward F. Voorde as of 1956-60 Joseph E. Kernan as of 1988-96 Pete Buttigieg 2012-19

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Nov 7: Edward J. Fogarty (Dem), elected; Francis E. Lambert (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Jesse I. Pavey (Dem), elected.
  • 1963 Nov 5: Lloyd M. Allen (Rep), elected; Paul Krueper (Dem), defeated.
  • 1987: Joseph E. Kernan, elected.
  • 1991: Joseph E. Kernan, elected.
  • 1995: Joseph E. Kernan, elected.

    Postmasters at South Bend, 1830-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Lathrop M. Taylor 1830-39 George Rex 1839-41 John H. Harper 1841-45 De Witt C. Willoughby 1845-47 John K. Wright 1847-49 Jeremiah Banning 1849-53 Ralph Staples 1853-60 Joseph H. Massey 1860-61 Edward R. Farnam 1861-69 Alfred B. Wade 1869-77 George Pfleger 1877-85 Sorden Lister 1885-89 Elmer Crockett 1889-94 Walter Harrigan 1894-98 Horace G. Miller 1898-1906 Demas D. Bates 1906-07 Cadmus E. Crabill 1907-14 George W. Zinky 1914-19 H. G. Dunnahoo 1919-20 John N. Hunter 1920-36 Robert A. Schnelle 1936 Bernard J. McCaffery 1936 Bernard J. McCaffery 1936-45 Frank C. Kettring 1945-49 Frank C. Kettring 1949-53 Granville P. Ziegler 1953-54 Granville P. Ziegler 1954-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/southbend.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]