The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indiana: Secretaries of State

Indiana Secretaries of State, 1816-1990 (May be incomplete!)
Robert A. New 1816-25 William W. Weeks 1825-29 William W. Wick 1825-29 James Morrison 1829-33 William Sheets 1833-37 William J. Brown 1837-41 William Sheets 1841-45 John H. Thompson 1845-49 Charles H. Test 1849-53 Nehemiah Hayden 1853-55 Erasmus B. Collins 1855-57 Daniel McClure 1857-59 Cyrus L. Dunham 1859-61 William A. Peelle 1861-63 James S. Athon 1863-65 Nelson Trusler 1865-69 Max F. A. Hoffman 1869-71 Norman Eddy 1871-72 John H. Farquhar 1872-73 William W. Curry 1873-75 John E. Neff 1875-79 John G. Shanklin 1879-81 Emanuel R. Hawn 1881-83 William R. Myers 1883-87 Charles F. Griffin 1887-91 Claude Matthews 1891-93 Myron D. King 1893 William R. Myers 1893-95 William D. Owen 1895-99 Union B. Hunt 1899-1903 Daniel E. Storms 1903-06 Fred A. Sims 1906-10 Lew G. Ellingham 1911-15 Homer L. Cook 1915-16 Edward L. Jackson 1917 William A. Roach 1917-21 Edward L. Jackson 1921-25 Fred Schortemeier 1925-29 Otto G. Fifield 1928-30 Frank Mayr, Jr. 1931-35 August G. Mueller 1935-39 James M. Tucker 1939-42 Maurice G. Robinson 1942-43 Rue J. Alexander 1943 John R. Walsh 1958 Larry Conrad 1970-78 Evan Bayh 1986-89 Sue Anne Gilroy 1990

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1856: John W. Dawson, defeated.
  • 1858: William A. Peelle, defeated.
  • 1862: William A. Peelle, defeated.
  • 1886: Robert W. Miers, defeated.
  • 1888: Robert W. Miers, defeated.
  • 1890: Claude Matthews (Dem), elected.
  • 1896: Samuel M. Ralston (Dem), defeated; Silas Mercer Holcomb (Populist), defeated.
  • 1898: Samuel M. Ralston (Dem), defeated.
  • 1914: Edward L. Jackson, defeated.
  • 1916: Edward L. Jackson, elected.
  • 1966: Edgar D. Whitcomb (Rep), elected.
  • 1990: William H. Hudnut III, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]