The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indiana: 1850-51 Constitutional Convention

Delegates to State Constitutional Convention, 1850-51 (May be incomplete!)
Charles Alexander 1850-51 Hiram Allen 1850-51 Samuel J. Anthony 1850-51 Oliver P. Badger 1850-51 George H. Ballingall 1850-51 Cromwell W. Barbour 1850-51 Erastus K. Bascom 1850-51 Walter E. Beach 1850-51 John Beard 1850-51 Othniel Beeson 1850-51 George Berry 1850-51 Thompson P. Bicknell 1850-51 Horace P. Biddle 1850-51 James E. Blythe 1850-51 James W. Borden 1850-51 Thomas I. Bourne 1850-51 Henry J. Bowers 1850-51 William Bracken 1850-51 Michael Graham Bright 1850-51 Benjamin F. Brookbank 1850-51 James R. M. Bryant 1850-51 Thomas Butler 1850-51 George W. Carr 1850-51 John F. Carr 1850-51 Horace E. Carter 1850-51 Shadrach Chandler 1850-51 Jacob P. Chapman 1850-51 Thomas Chenoweth 1850-51 Haymond W. Clark 1850-51 Othniel L. Clark 1850-51 Richard A. Clements 1850-51 Joseph Coats 1850-51 Albert Cole 1850-51 Schuyler Colfax 1850-51 Alexander B. Conduit 1850-51 Grafton Fleener Cookerly 1850-51 James Crawford 1850-51 Daniel Crumbacker 1850-51 Samuel Davis 1850-51 William McKee Dunn 1850-51 Benjamin Rose Edmonston 1850-51 James B. Foley 1850 Thomas A. Hendricks 1850-51 William S. Holman 1850-51 Alvin P. Hovey 1850 Daniel Kelso 1850-51 Robert C. Kendall 1850-51 Phineas M. Kent 1850-51 James Lockhart 1850-51 Robert D. Owen 1850-51 David Wallace 1850-51

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1850: Joseph Holman, defeated; Samuel Hanna, defeated; Robert Hanna, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/ofc/cncn2.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]