The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dubois County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Dubois County

Index to Locations

  • Huntingburg Fairmount Cemetery

    Fairmount Cemetery
    Huntingburg, Dubois County, Indiana
    Politicians buried here:
      William Elijah Cox (1861-1942) — also known as William E. Cox — of Jasper, Dubois County, Ind. Born near Birdseye, Dubois County, Ind., September 6, 1861. Democrat. Lawyer; U.S. Representative from Indiana 3rd District, 1907-19. Died in Jasper, Dubois County, Ind., March 11, 1942 (age 80 years, 186 days). Interment at Fairmount Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of James Cox and Nancy J. (Conley) Cox; married 1900 to Della B. Horbison.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      John Lewis Bretz (1852-1920) — also known as John L. Bretz — of Jasper, Dubois County, Ind. Born near Huntingburg, Dubois County, Ind., September 21, 1852. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Indiana 2nd District, 1891-95; circuit judge in Indiana, 1895-1920. Died in Jasper, Dubois County, Ind., December 25, 1920 (age 68 years, 95 days). Interment at Fairmount Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Robert H. Bob Menke, Sr. (1919-2008) — also known as Bob Menke — Born in Huntingburg, Dubois County, Ind., October 15, 1919. Served in the U.S. Army Air Force in World War II; furniture business; member of Indiana state house of representatives, 1953-54. Member, Nature Conservancy. A standout basketball player in high school and at Indiana University; inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 1982. Died, from Lewy body dementia, March 30, 2008 (age 88 years, 167 days). Cremated; ashes interred at Fairmount Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of William Menke and Clara (Moenkhaus) Menke; married, August 12, 1944, to Phyllis McMurtrie.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IN/DU-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]