The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Illinois: Superintendents of Public Instruction

Illinois Superintendents of Public Instruction, 1854-1975 (May be incomplete!)
Ninian W. Edwards 1854-57 William H. Powell 1857-59 Newton Bateman 1859-63 John P. Brooks 1863-65 Newton Bateman 1865-75 Samuel M. Etter 1875-79 James P. Slade 1879-83 Henry Raab 1883-87 Richards Edwards 1887-91 Henry Raab 1891-95 Samuel Inglis 1895-98 Joseph H. Freeman 1898-99 Alfred Bayliss 1899-1907 Francis G. Blair 1907-35 John A. Wieland 1935-43 Vernon L. Nickell 1943-59 George T. Wilkins 1959-63 Ray Page 1963-71 Michael J. Bakalis 1971-75

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858: John Reynolds, defeated.
  • 1866: John M. Crebs (Dem), defeated.
  • 1898 Jun 23: Samuel Inglis, died in office.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Francis G. Blair (Rep), elected; Edwin Strauss (Dem), defeated; Emma Pischell (Socialist), defeated; Eldon G. Burritt (Prohibition), defeated; Edward Horr (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1922 Apr 11: James A. Murphy (Dem), nominated; Peter F. Ryan (Dem), defeated in primary; John Duda (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1922 Apr 11: Francis G. Blair (Rep), nominated; Addison M. Shelton (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1922 Apr 11: Lillian Herstein (Farmer-Labor), nominated unopposed.
  • 1922 Apr 11: Bertha Hale White (Socialist), nominated unopposed.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Francis G. Blair (Rep), elected; James A. Murphy (Dem), defeated; Bertha Hale White (Socialist), defeated; Lillian Herstein (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1934 Apr 10: John A. Wieland (Dem), nominated; Leo B. Walsh (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1934 Apr 10: Francis G. Blair (Rep), nominated; George A. Selters (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1934 Nov 6: John A. Wieland (Dem), elected; Francis G. Blair (Rep), defeated; Florence C. Hanson (Socialist), defeated; Petra M. Dahl (National Progressive), defeated; J. Oliver Buswell, Jr. (Prohibition), defeated; Christ Christiansen (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1938 Apr 12: John A. Wieland (Dem), nominated; Frank A. Jensen (Dem), defeated in primary; Thomas M. Enright (Dem), defeated in primary; Elmer Henry Vogel (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Apr 12: Wiley B. Garvin (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1938 Nov 8: John A. Wieland (Dem), elected; Wiley B. Garvin (Rep), defeated; J. Oliver Buswell, Jr. (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Vernon L. Nickell (Rep), elected.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Vernon L. Nickell (Rep), elected.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Vernon L. Nickell (Rep), elected.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Vernon L. Nickell (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/sppi.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]