The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Illinois: Secretaries of State

Illinois Secretaries of State, 1818-2006 (May be incomplete!)
Elias K. Kane 1818-22 Samuel D. Lockwood 1822-23 David Blackwell 1823-24 Morris Birkbeck 1824-25 George Forquer 1825-28 Alexander P. Field 1829-40 Stephen A. Douglas 1840-41 Lyman Trumbull 1841-43 Thompson Campbell 1843-46 Horace S. Cooley 1846-50 David L. Gregg 1850-53 Alexander Starne 1853-57 Ozias M. Hatch 1857-65 Sharon Tyndale 1865-69 Edward Rummell 1869-73 George H. Harlow 1873-81 Henry D. Dement 1881-89 Isaac N. Pearson 1889-93 William H. Hinrichsen 1893-97 James A. Rose 1897-1912 Cornelius J. Doyle 1912-13 Harry Woods 1913-14 Lewis G. Stevenson 1914-17 Louis L. Emmerson 1917-29 William J. Stratton 1929-33 Edward J. Hughes 1933-44 Richard Y. Rowe 1944-45 Edward J. Barrett 1945-53 Charles F. Carpentier 1953-64 William H. Chamberlain 1964-65 Paul Powell 1965-70 John W. Lewis 1970-73 Michael J. Howlett 1973-77 Alan J. Dixon 1977-81 James Edgar 1981-91 George H. Ryan 1991-99

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1850 Apr 2: Horace S. Cooley, died in office.
  • 1852: Buckner S. Morris (Whig), defeated.
  • 1896: Finis E. Downing, defeated.
  • 1912: Cornelius J. Doyle, defeated.
  • 1912 May 29: James A. Rose, died in office.
  • 1914 Oct 11: Harry Woods, died in office.
  • 1921: William F. Kruse (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1932: Edward J. Hughes (Dem), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Edward J. Hughes (Dem), elected; William J. Stratton (Rep), defeated; Stanley J. Piotrowicz (Union Progressive), defeated; Harry A. Crawford (Socialist), defeated; Harriet L. McBride (Prohibition), defeated; Sam French (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Edward J. Hughes (Dem), elected; Justus L. Johnson (Rep), defeated; Mordecai Shulman (Socialist), defeated; Harriet L. McBride (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1944: William G. Stratton (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Jun 28: Edward J. Hughes, died in office.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Edward J. Barrett (Dem), elected; Arnold P. Benson (Rep), defeated; Louis Fisher (Socialist Labor), defeated; Robert W. Melven (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1948: William G. Stratton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952: Harold R. Collier, defeated in primary.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Charles F. Carpentier (Rep), elected; David F. Mallett (Dem), defeated; Gregory P. Lyngas (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1964 Apr 3: Charles F. Carpentier, died in office.
  • 1964 Apr 14: Walter E. Pacanowski (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1970 Oct 10: Paul Powell, died in office.
  • 1982: Jerry Cosentino, defeated.
  • 1990: Jerry Cosentino, defeated; George H. Ryan (Rep), elected.
  • 1994: George H. Ryan (Rep), elected.
  • 2006: Dan Rutherford (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]