The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rockford, Illinois

Mayors of Rockford, 1852-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Willard Wheeler 1852-53 Hiram R. Maynard 1853-54 Ulysses M. Warner 1854-55 Edward Vaughn 1855-56 James L. Loop 1856-57 William Brown 1857-58 Seeley Perry 1858-59 Charles Williams 1859-64 Albert Fowler 1864-66 Edward H. Baker 1866-67 Albert Fowler 1867-68 Edward H. Baker 1868-69 Seymour G. Bronson 1869-73 Gilbert Woodruff 1873-75 Robert H. Tinker 1875-76 Levi Rhoades 1876-77 Duncan Ferguson 1877-78 William Watson 1878-79 Sylvester B. Wilkins 1879-81 Samuel P. Crawford 1881-83 Alfred Taggart 1883-87 Horace C. Scovill 1887-89 John H. Sherratt 1889-91 Henry N. Starr 1891-93 Amasa Hutchins 1893-95 Edward W. Brown 1895-1901 Amasa Hutchins 1901-03 Charles E. Jackson 1903-07 Mark Jardine 1907-11 William Bennett 1911-17 Robert Rew 1917-21 J. Herman Hallstrom 1921-27 Burt M. Allen 1927-29 J. Herman Hallstrom 1929-33 C. Henry Bloom 1933-37 Charles F. Brown 1937-41 C. Henry Bloom 1941-53 Milton Lundstrom 1953-57 Benjamin T. Schleicher 1957-73 Robert W. McGaw 1973-81 John McNamara 1981-89 Charles E. Box 1989-2001 Doug Scott 2001-05 Lawrence J. Morrissey 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1911: William Bennett, elected.
  • 1913: William Bennett, elected.
  • 1915: William Bennett, elected.
  • 1921 Apr 5: J. Herman Hallstrom, elected.
  • 1927: J. Herman Hallstrom, defeated.
  • 1933: J. Herman Hallstrom, defeated.
  • 1953 Apr 7: Milton Lundstrom (People's Coalition), elected; William H. Day (Rep), defeated.
  • 1997 Apr 1: Charles E. Box (Dem), elected; W. Timothy Simms (Rep), defeated.
  • 2001 Apr 3: Doug Scott (Dem), elected; Dennis W. Johnson (Rep), defeated; Lawrence J. Morrissey (Ind), defeated; Guy M. Spinello (Ind), defeated.
  • 2005 Apr 5: Lawrence J. Morrissey (Ind), elected; Doug Scott (Dem), defeated; Gloria Cardenas Cudia (Rep), defeated.
  • 2009 Feb 24: Doug Block (Dem), nominated; John M. Nelson (Dem), defeated in primary; Gerald Albert (Dem), defeated in primary; Marsha Moorman (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph J. Wilson (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2009 Apr 7: Lawrence J. Morrissey (Ind), elected; Doug Block (Dem), defeated; John Harmon (Rep), defeated; Jesus Correa VII (Green), defeated.

    Postmasters at Rockford, 1837-1980 (may be incomplete!)
    Daniel S. Haight 1837-41 Edward Warren 1841 Seldon M. Church 1841-43 Charles H. Spafford 1843-45 Charles J. Horseman 1845-49 Buel G. Wheeler 1849-53 Charles J. Horseman 1853-57 George F. Hambright 1857-61 Melancthon Smith 1861-63 Annie M. Smith 1863-65 Anson S. Miller 1865-66 Azro E. Goodwin 1866-67 Anson S. Miller 1867-71 Charles H. Spafford 1871-75 Abraham E. Smith 1875-79 Thomas G. Lawler 1879-85 John D. Waterman 1885-89 Thomas G. Lawler 1889-94 John D. Waterman 1894-98 Thomas G. Lawler 1898-1908 Howard O. Hilton 1908-15 William H. Hefferan 1915-21 Arthur L. Johnson 1921-22 Arthur L. Johnson 1922-34 Lawrence P. Luby 1934-35 Lawrence P. Luby 1935-49 Edward T. O'Shay 1949-50 Edward T. O'Shay 1950-80

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/rockford.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]