The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Illinois: State Auditors of Public Accounts

Illinois State Auditors of Public Accounts, 1818-1973 (May be incomplete!)
Elijah C. Berry 1818-31 James T. Stapp 1831-35 Davis Levi 1835-41 James Shields 1841-43 William L. D. Ewing 1843-46 Thomas H. Campbell 1846-57 Jesse K. Dubois 1857-64 Orlin H. Miner 1864-69 Charles E. Lippincott 1869-77 Thomas B. Needles 1877-81 Charles P. Swigart 1881-89 Charles W. Pavey 1889-93 David Gore 1893-97 James S. McCullough 1897-1913 James J. Brady 1913-17 Andrew Russel 1917-25 Oscar E. Nelson 1925-33 Edward J. Barrett 1933-41 Arthur C. Lueder 1941-49 Benjamin O. Cooper 1949-53 Orville E. Hodge 1953-56 Lloyd Morey 1956-57 Elbert Sidney Smith 1957-61 Michael J. Howlett 1961-73

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1846 Mar 25: William L. D. Ewing, died in office.
  • 1912: James S. McCullough, defeated.
  • 1932: Edward J. Barrett (Dem), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Edward J. Barrett (Dem), elected; Arthur J. Bidwill (Rep), defeated; Harry A. Steinmeyer (Union Progressive), defeated; Anton Udovic (Socialist), defeated; Carl T. E. Schultze (Prohibition), defeated; Gus A. Jenning (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Arthur C. Lueder (Rep), elected; John C. Martin (Dem), defeated; Georgia Albright (Socialist), defeated; Carl T. E. Schultze (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Arthur C. Lueder (Rep), elected; William M. Vicars (Dem), defeated; O. Alfred Olson (Socialist Labor), defeated; Arthur McFall (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Elbert Sidney Smith (Rep), elected; Michael J. Howlett (Dem), defeated; Stanley L. Prorok (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]