The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Clark County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Clark County

Index to Locations

  • Marshall Marshall Cemetery
  • Near Marshall Walnut Prairie Cemetery

    Marshall Cemetery
    Marshall, Clark County, Illinois
    Politicians buried here:
      Timothy Roberts Young (1811-1898) — also known as Timothy R. Young — of Clark County, Ill. Born in Dover, Strafford County, N.H., November 19, 1811. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Illinois 3rd District, 1849-51; delegate to Illinois state constitutional convention from Clark County, 1862. Died near Casey, Clark County, Ill., May 12, 1898 (age 86 years, 174 days). Interment at Marshall Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Justin Harlan (1800-1879) — of Marshall, Clark County, Ill. Born in Warren County, Ohio, December 6, 1800. Served in the U.S. Army during the Black Hawk War; delegate to Illinois state constitutional convention from Clark County, 1847; circuit judge in Illinois, 1848-61. Died in Kentucky, March 12, 1879 (age 78 years, 96 days). Interment at Marshall Cemetery.
      Uriah Manley (d. 1864) — also known as Uri Manley — of Clark County, Ill. Delegate to Illinois state constitutional convention Clark, Edgar and Coles counties, 1847; member of Illinois state senate 9th District, 1849-50. Died in Clark County, Ill., 1864. Interment at Marshall Cemetery.

    Walnut Prairie Cemetery
    Near Marshall, Clark County, Illinois
    Politicians buried here:
      William Beatty Archer (1793-1870) — also known as William B. Archer — of Marshall, Clark County, Ill. Born in Scott County, Ky., January 30, 1793. Member of Illinois state house of representatives, 1825-26; member of Illinois state senate, 1827-35; colonel in the U.S. Army during the Black Hawk War; candidate for Presidential Elector for Illinois; delegate to Republican National Convention from Illinois, 1856 (Convention Vice-President). Died August 9, 1870 (age 77 years, 191 days). Interment at Walnut Prairie Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IL/CK-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]