The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Idaho: U.S. Representatives

U.S. Representatives from Idaho, 1890-2018 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892: James Gunn, defeated.
  • 1894: James Gunn, defeated.
  • 1896: William E. Borah, defeated.
  • 1898: Weldon B. Heyburn (Rep), defeated; James Gunn, defeated.
  • 1914: Bert H. Miller (Dem), defeated.
  • 1912: Perry W. Mitchell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Burton L. French (Rep), elected; Nell K. Irion (Dem), defeated; Riley Rice (Ind), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Burton L. French (Rep), elected; George Waters (Dem), defeated; W. W. Deal (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Burton L. French (Rep), elected; Perry W. Mitchell (Dem), defeated; Roy Rabbit (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Burton L. French (Rep), elected; L. L. Burtenshaw (Dem & Progressive), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Addison T. Smith (Rep), elected; W. P. Whitaker (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Addison T. Smith (Rep), elected; W. P. Whitaker (Dem), defeated; Dow Dunning (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Addison T. Smith (Rep), elected; William A. Shuldberg (Progressive), defeated; Asher B. Wilson (Dem), defeated; Clifford Higby (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Addison T. Smith (Rep), elected; H. F. Fait (Progressive), defeated; Mary George Gray (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938: Glen H. Taylor, defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Compton I. White (Dem), elected; Burton L. French (Rep), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Compton I. White (Dem), elected; Rex T. Hensen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1934 Jun 8: Thomas C. Coffin, died in office.
  • 1934 Nov 6: D. Worth Clark (Dem), elected; Heber Q. Hale (Rep), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Henry C. Dworshak (Rep), elected; Bert H. Miller (Dem), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Compton I. White (Dem), elected; H. Clarence Baldridge (Rep), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Abe McGregor Goff (Rep), elected; Compton I. White (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Compton I. White (Dem), elected; Abe McGregor Goff (Rep), defeated; Thomas B. Wood (Progressive), defeated; Richard M. Shaefer (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Henry C. Dworshak (Rep), elected; Ira H. Masters (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: John C. Sanborn (Rep), elected; Pete Leguineche (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: John C. Sanborn (Rep), elected; Asael Lyman (Dem), defeated; C. W. 'Babe' Dill (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1950: Harry Wall (Dem), defeated. Gracie Pfost (Dem), defeated.
  • 1962 Nov 6: Orval H. Hansen, defeated.
  • 1974: Orval H. Hansen (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1982: Larry LaRocco (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Larry Craig (Rep), elected; William Currie (Dem), defeated; David W. Shepherd (Ind), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Larry Craig (Rep), elected; Jeanne Givens (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Richard H. Stallings (Dem), elected; Mel Richardson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Richard H. Stallings (Dem), elected; Dane Watkins (Rep), defeated; Donovan Bramwell (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Larry LaRocco (Dem), elected; C. A. Smyser (Rep), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Larry LaRocco (Dem), elected; Rachel S. Gilbert (Rep), defeated; John Abel (Ind), defeated; Henry Kinsey (Ind), defeated.
  • 1994 May 24: Larry LaRocco (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 May 24: Helen P. Chenoweth (Rep), nominated; David H. Leroy (Rep), defeated in primary; Ron McMurray (Rep), defeated in primary; Henry Kinsey (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Helen P. Chenoweth (Rep), elected; Larry LaRocco (Dem), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Helen P. Chenoweth (Rep), elected; Dan Williams (Dem), defeated; Marion Ellis (Natural Law), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Helen P. Chenoweth (Rep), elected; Dan Williams (Dem), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Richard H. Stallings (Dem), elected; Sean McDevitt (Rep), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Michael D. Crapo (Rep), elected; J. D. Williams (Dem), defeated; Steven L. Kauer (Ind), defeated; David William Mansfield (Ind), defeated.
  • 1994 May 24: Penny Fletcher (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 May 24: Michael D. Crapo (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Michael D. Crapo (Rep), elected; Penny Fletcher (Dem), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Michael D. Crapo (Rep), elected; John D. Seidl (Dem), defeated; John Butler (Natural Law), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Michael K. Simpson (Rep), elected; Richard H. Stallings (Dem), defeated; Jonathan Bradford Ratner (Natural Law), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: C. L. 'Butch' Otter (Rep), elected; Linda Pall (Dem), defeated; Ronald G. Wittig (Libertarian), defeated; Kevin Philip Hambsch (Reform), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: C. L. 'Butch' Otter (Rep), elected; Betty H. Richardson (Dem), defeated; Steve Gothard (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: C. L. 'Butch' Otter (Rep), elected; Naomi Preston (Dem), defeated.
  • 2006: Bill Sali (Rep), elected.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Michael K. Simpson (Rep), elected; Craig Williams (Dem), defeated; Donovan Bramwell (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Michael K. Simpson (Rep), elected; Edward Kinghorn (Dem), defeated; John A. Lewis (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Michael K. Simpson (Rep), elected; Lin Whitworth (Dem), defeated.
  • 2010: Walt Minnick (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ID/ofc/usrep.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]