The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Idaho: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Idaho, 1890-2019 (May be incomplete!)
Norman B. Willey 1890 John S. Gray 1890-93 F. B. Willis 1893-95 F. J. Mills 1895-97 George F. Moore 1897-99 Joseph H. Hutchinson 1899-1901 Thomas F. Terrell 1901-03 James M. Stevens 1903-05 Burpee L. Steeves 1905-07 Ezra A. Burrell 1907-09 Lewis H. Sweetser 1909-13 Herman H. Taylor 1913-17 Ernest L. Parker 1917-19 Charles Calvin Moore 1919-23 H. Clarence Baldridge 1923-27 O. E. Hailey 1927-29 W. B. Kinne 1929 O. E. Hailey 1929-31 G. P. Mix 1931-33 George E. Hill 1933-35 G. P. Mix 1935-37 Charles C. Gossett 1937-39 Donald S. Whitehead 1939-41 Charles C. Gossett 1941-43 Edwin Nelson 1943-45 Arnold Williams 1945 A. R. McCabe 1946-47 Donald S. Whitehead 1947-51 Edson H. Deal 1951-55 J. Berkeley Larsen 1955-59 W. E. Drevlow 1959-67 Jack M. Murphy 1967-75 John V. Evans 1975-77 William J. Murphy 1977-79 Philip E. Batt 1979-83 David H. Leroy 1983-87 Butch Otter 1987-2001 James E. Risch 2003-06 James E. Risch 2007-09 Brad Little 2009-19

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892: F. B. Willis (Rep), elected.
  • 1894: F. J. Mills (Rep), elected.
  • 1896: George F. Moore (Dem), elected.
  • 1898: Joseph H. Hutchinson (Dem), elected.
  • 1900: Thomas F. Terrell (Dem), elected.
  • 1902: James M. Stevens (Rep), elected.
  • 1904: Burpee L. Steeves (Rep), elected.
  • 1906: Ezra A. Burrell (Rep), elected.
  • 1908: Lewis H. Sweetser (Rep), elected.
  • 1910: Lewis H. Sweetser (Rep), elected.
  • 1912: Herman H. Taylor (Rep), elected.
  • 1914: Herman H. Taylor (Rep), elected.
  • 1916: Ernest L. Parker (Dem), elected.
  • 1918: Charles Calvin Moore (Rep), elected.
  • 1920: Charles Calvin Moore (Rep), elected.
  • 1922: H. Clarence Baldridge (Rep), elected.
  • 1924: H. Clarence Baldridge (Rep), elected.
  • 1926: O. E. Hailey (Rep), elected.
  • 1928: W. B. Kinne (Rep), elected.
  • 1929 Sep 30: W. B. Kinne, died in office.
  • 1929 Oct 25: O. E. Hailey, appointed.
  • 1930: G. P. Mix (Dem), elected.
  • 1932: George E. Hill (Dem), elected.
  • 1934: G. P. Mix (Dem), elected.
  • 1936: Charles C. Gossett (Dem), elected.
  • 1938: Donald S. Whitehead (Rep), elected.
  • 1940: Charles C. Gossett (Dem), elected.
  • 1942: Edwin Nelson (Rep), elected.
  • 1944: Arnold Williams (Dem), elected.
  • 1946: Donald S. Whitehead, elected.
  • 1946 Mar 20: A. R. McCabe, appointed.
  • 1950: Edson H. Deal (Rep), elected.
  • 1954: J. Berkeley Larsen (Rep), elected.
  • 1958: W. E. Drevlow (Dem), elected.
  • 1962: W. E. Drevlow (Dem), elected.
  • 1966: Jack M. Murphy (Rep), elected.
  • 1970: Jack M. Murphy (Rep), elected.
  • 1974: John V. Evans (Dem), elected.
  • 1977 Jan 28: William J. Murphy, appointed.
  • 1978: Philip E. Batt (Rep), elected.
  • 1982: David H. Leroy (Rep), elected.
  • 1986 May 27: Butch Otter (Rep), nominated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Butch Otter (Rep), elected.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Butch Otter (Rep), elected.
  • 1994 May 24: John Peavey (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 May 24: Butch Otter (Rep), nominated; Dean E Sorensen (Rep), defeated in primary; Dean Haagenson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Butch Otter (Rep), elected; John Peavey (Dem), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Butch Otter (Rep), elected.
  • 2010: Steve Pankey (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ID/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]