The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Iowa

U.S. District Attorneys for Iowa, 1838-83 (may be incomplete!)
Cyrus S. Jacobs 1838 Isaac Van Allen 1838-40 Charles Weston 1840-43 John G. Deshler 1843-45 Edward Johnston 1845-47 Isaac M. Preston 1847-50 Stephen Whicher 1850-52 Joseph C. Knapp 1852-60 W. H. F. Gurley 1860-63 Robert H. Gilmore 1863-65 Caleb Baldwin 1865-67 Milton D. Browning 1867-69 William Fletcher Sapp 1869-73 James T. Lane 1873-82 DeWitt C. Cram 1883

U.S. District Attorneys for Iowa, 1883-2001 (may be incomplete!)
Maurice D. O'Connell 1883-86 Timothy P. Murphy 1886-90 Maurice D. O'Connell 1890-94 Cato Sells 1894-98 Horace G. McMillan 1898-1907 Frederick F. Faville 1907-13 Anthony Van Wagenen 1913-14 Frank A. O'Connor 1914-21 Guy P. Linville 1921-27 Bennett E. Rhinehart 1927-31 Harry M. Reed 1931-34 Edward G. Dunn 1934-40 Tobias E. Diamond 1940-52 Michael L. Mason 1952-53 F. G. Van Alstine 1953-61 Donald E. O'Brien 1961-67 Steve Turner 1967 Asher E. Schroeder 1967-69 Evan L. Hultman 1969-77 James H. Reynolds 1977-82 Evan L. Hultman 1982-86 Robert L. Teig 1986 Charles W. Larson 1986-93 Robert L. Teig 1993 Stephen J. Rapp 1993-2001

U.S. District Attorneys for Iowa, 1882-1998 (may be incomplete!)
John S. Runnels 1882-85 Daniel O. Finch 1885-89 Lewis Miles 1889-93 Charles D. Fullen 1893-1902 Claude R. Porter 1914-18 Edwin G. Moon 1918-22 Ralph Pringle 1922-24 Edwin G. Moon 1924 Ross R. Mowry 1924-32 Robert W. Colflesh 1932-34 Edwin G. Moon 1934-39 Cloid I. Level 1939 John K. Valentine 1939-40 Hugh B. McCoy 1940 Maurice F. Donegan 1940-49 William R. Hart 1949-53 Roy L. Stephenson 1953-60 Roy W. Meadows 1960-61 Donald A. Wine 1961-65 Philip T. Riley 1965 Donald M. Statton 1965-67 Jerry E. Williams 1967 James P. Rielly 1967-69 Allen L. Donielson 1969-76 George H. Perry 1976-77 Paul A. Zoss, Jr. 1977 James R. Rosenbaum 1977 Roxanne Barton Conlin 1977-81 Kermit B. Anderson 1981 Richard C. Turner 1981-86 Christopher D. Hagen 1986-90 Gene W. Shepard 1990-93 Don Carlos Nickerson 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]