The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Iowa: State Treasurers

Iowa State Treasurers, 1846-1970 (May be incomplete!)
Morgan Reno 1846-50 Israel Kister 1850-52 Martin L. Morris 1852-59 John W. Jones 1859-63 William H. Holmes 1863-67 Samuel E. Rankin 1867-73 William Christy 1873-77 George W. Bemis 1877-81 Edwin H. Conger 1881-85 Voltaire P. Twombly 1885-91 Byron A. Beeson 1891-95 John Herriott 1895-1901 Gilbert S. Gilbertson 1901-07 Willison M. Morrow 1907-13 William C. Brown 1913-17 E. H. Hoyt 1917-21 W. J. Burbank 1921-24 R. E. Johnson 1925-33 Leo J. Wegman 1933-39 Willis G. C. Bagley 1939-43 John M. Grimes 1943-51 M. L. Abrahamson 1951-65 Paul Franzenburg 1965-69 Maurice E. Baringer 1969-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900: Gilbert S. Gilbertson, elected.
  • 1902: Gilbert S. Gilbertson, elected.
  • 1904: Gilbert S. Gilbertson, elected.
  • 1917 May 12: William C. Brown, died in office.
  • 1943 Oct 20: Willis G. C. Bagley, died in office.
  • 1950 Nov 7: M. L. Abrahamson (Rep), elected.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Maurice E. Baringer (Rep), elected; Palmer (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]