The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Iowa: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Iowa State Supreme Court, 1846-1995 (May be incomplete!)
Charles Mason 1846-47 Joseph Williams 1846-48 Thomas S. Wilson 1846-47 John F. Kinney 1847-54 George Greene 1847-55 S. Clinton Hastings 1848-49 Joseph Williams 1849-55 Jonathan C. Hall 1854-55 William G. Woodward 1855-60 George G. Wright 1855-60 Norman W. Isbell 1855-56 Lacon D. Stockton 1856-60 Caleb Baldwin 1860-63 Ralph P. Lowe 1860-67 George G. Wright 1860-70 John F. Dillon 1864-69 Chester C. Cole 1864-76 Joseph M. Beck 1868-91 Elias H. Williams 1870 James G. Day 1870-83 William E. Miller 1870-75 Austin Adams 1876-87 William H. Seevers 1876-88 James H. Rothrock 1876-96 Joseph Rea Reed 1884-89 Gifford S. Robinson 1888-99 Charles T. Granger 1889-1900 Josiah Given 1889-1901 La Vega G. Kinne 1892-97 Horace E. Deemer 1894-1917 Scott M. Ladd 1897-1920 Charles M. Waterman 1898-1902 John C. Sherwin 1900-12 Emlin McClain 1901-12 Silas M. Weaver 1902-23 Charles A. Bishop 1902-08 William D. Evans 1908-34 Frank R. Gaynor 1913-20 Byron W. Preston 1913-24 Winfield S. Withrow 1913-14 Benjamin I. Salinger 1915-20 Truman S. Stevens 1917-34 Thomas Arthur 1920-25 Lawrence DeGraff 1921-32 Frederick F. Faville 1921-32 Charles W. Vermilion 1923-27 E. G. Albert 1925-36 Edgar A. Morling 1925-32 James W. Kindig 1927-34 Henry F. Wagner 1927-32 John M. Grimm 1929-32 William L. Bliss 1932 George C. Claussen 1932 Hubert Utterback 1932-33 Richard F. Mitchell 1932-42 John W. Anderson 1933-38 Maurice F. Donegan 1933-38 John W. Kintzinger 1933-38 George C. Claussen 1933-34 Leon W. Powers 1934-36 Wilson H. Hamilton 1935-40 James M. Parsons 1935-37 Paul W. Richards 1935-40 Carl B. Stiger 1936-42 Edward A. Sager 1937-42 Ernest M. Miller 1937-38 Ralph A. Oliver 1938-62 William L. Bliss 1939-62 Oscar Hale 1939-50 Frederic M. Miller 1939-46 Theodore G. Garfield 1941-69 Charles F. Wennerstrum 1941-58 Halleck J. Mantz 1943-53 John E. Mulroney 1943-55 William A. Smith 1943-58 Norman R. Hays 1946-65 G. King Thompson 1951-65 Robert L. Larson 1953-71 Henry K. Peterson 1955-65 Luke E. Linnan 1958 Harry F. Garrett 1958-60 T. Eugene Thornton 1959-67 Bruce M. Snell 1961-70 C. Edwin Moore 1962-78 William C. Stuart 1962-71 Michael L. Mason 1965-78 Maurice E. Rawlings 1965-78 Francis H. Becker 1965-72 Clay Le Grand 1967-83 Warren J. Rees 1969-80 Harvey Uhlenhopp 1970-86 W. Ward Reynoldson 1971-87 K. David Harris 1972- Mark McCormick 1972-86 Robert G. Allbee 1978-82 Arthur A. McGiverin 1978- J. L. Larson 1978- Louis W. Schultz 1980-93 James H. Carter 1982- Charles R. Wolle 1983-87 Louis A. Lavorato 1986- Linda K. Neuman 1986- Bruce M. Snell, Jr. 1987- James H. Andreasen 1987- Marsha K. Ternus 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1860: Daniel F. Miller (Ind), defeated.
  • 1860 Jun 9: Lacon D. Stockton, died in office.
  • 1920 Sep 15: Thomas Arthur, appointed.
  • 1927 Apr 30: James W. Kindig, appointed.
  • 1927 Sep 2: Charles W. Vermilion, died in office.
  • 1929 Feb 1: John M. Grimm, appointed.
  • 1932: William L. Bliss (Rep), defeated.
  • 1932 Sep 15: John M. Grimm, resigned.
  • 1932 Sep 27: William L. Bliss, appointed.
  • 1936: William L. Bliss (Rep), defeated.
  • 1938: William L. Bliss (Rep), elected; Ralph A. Oliver (Rep), elected.
  • 1940: Ralph A. Oliver (Rep), elected.
  • 1942: William A. Smith (Rep), elected; Halleck J. Mantz (Rep), elected.
  • 1944: William L. Bliss (Rep), elected.
  • 1946: Ralph A. Oliver (Rep), elected.
  • 1948: Halleck J. Mantz, elected.
  • 1982 Jun 30: Robert G. Allbee, resigned.
  • 1987 Aug 12: Charles R. Wolle, resigned.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]