The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Iowa: State Auditors

Iowa State Auditors, 1846-2004 (May be incomplete!)
Joseph T. Fales 1846-50 William Pattee 1850-54 Andrew J. Stevens 1854-55 John Pattee 1855-59 Jonathan W. Cattell 1859-65 John A. Elliott 1865-71 John Russell 1871-75 Buren Robinson Sherman 1875-81 William V. Lucas 1881-82 John L. Brown 1883-85 Jonathan W. Cattell 1885-86 John L. Brown 1886 Charles Beardsley 1886 John L. Brown 1886-87 James A. Lyons 1887-93 Cornelius G. McCarthy 1893-99 Frank F. Merriam 1899-1903 Beryl F. Carroll 1903-09 John L. Bleakly 1909-15 Frank S. Shaw 1915-21 Glenn C. Haynes 1921-24 James E. Thomas 1924-25 J. C. McClune 1925-27 J. W. Long 1927-32 C. Fred Porter 1932-33 Charles W. Storms 1933-39 C. B. Akers 1939-65 Lorne R. Worthington 1965-66 Lloyd R. Smith 1967-78 Richard D. Johnson 1979-2003 David Vaudt 2004

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1938: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1940: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1942: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1944: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1946: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1948: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1950: C. B. Akers (Rep), elected.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Lloyd R. Smith (Rep), elected; Linduski (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978: Lloyd R. Smith, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]