The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Iowa: State Attorneys General

Iowa State Attorneys General, 1853-1970 (May be incomplete!)
David C. Cloud 1853-56 Samuel A. Rice 1856-61 Charles C. Nourse 1861-65 Isaac L. Allen 1865-66 Frederick E. Bissell 1866-67 Henry O'Conner 1867-72 Marsena E. Cutts 1872-77 John F. McJunkin 1877-81 Smith McPherson 1881-85 Andrew Jackson Baker 1885-89 John Y. Stone 1889-95 Milton Remley 1895-1901 Charles W. Mullan 1901-07 Howard W. Byers 1907-11 George Cosson 1911-17 Horace M. Havner 1917-21 Ben J. Gibson 1921-27 John Fletcher 1927-32 Edward L. O'Connor 1932-37 John H. Mitchell 1937-39 Fred D. Everett 1939-40 John M. Rankin 1940-47 Robert L. Larson 1947-53 Leo Hoegh 1953-54 Dayton Countryman 1954-57 Norman Erbe 1957-61 Evan L. Hultman 1961-65 Lawrence F. Scalise 1965-66 Richard C. Turner 1967-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884: Andrew Jackson Baker (Rep), elected.
  • 1920: J. Ray Files, defeated.
  • 1940 Jun 10: Fred D. Everett, died in office.
  • 1944: Harry F. Garrett, defeated.
  • 1947 Jun 25: Robert L. Larson, appointed.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Robert L. Larson (Rep), elected.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Robert L. Larson (Rep), elected.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Richard C. Turner (Rep), elected; Raymond T. Walton (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]