The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Scott County

Scott County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Scott County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Scott County: [none currently in database]

Scott County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: N. D. Ely — W. W. Marsh — Henry Vollmer
   1920, San Francisco: Glen D. Kelley — George J. Sternsdorff
   1924, New York: Peter N. Jacobsen
   1928, Houston: Peter N. Jacobsen — Thomas Walsh
   1936, Philadelphia: Ed Carroll — Jessie Postel
   1940, Chicago: Walter H. Beuse — E. J. Carroll — Thomas Walsh
   1944, Chicago: E. J. Carroll — Lee J. Dougherty
   1948, Philadelphia: Frank Engel — H. J. Strong
   1952, Chicago: Lee A. Gaukler
   1972, Miami Beach: Kathryn M. Kirschbaum — Floyd Lear — Monica Walton
   1996, Chicago: Mary R. Cannon-James — Darlene E. Hill — Joseph R. Matesic, Jr. — Randall B. Palmer — Susan Pamperin — Ramon Jose Perez — Camellia Pohl
   2004, Boston: Elesha Gayman
   2008, Denver: Bill Gluba
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: James Thorington
   1860, Chicago: Nicholas J. Rusch — John W. Thompson
   1880, Chicago: John W. Thompson
   1888, Chicago: James T. Lane
   1896, St. Louis: George W. French
   1900, Philadelphia: George W. French
   1904, Chicago: George W. French
   1908, Chicago: Joseph Reed Lane
   1912, Chicago: William M. Chamberlain — George W. French — Rudolph Rohlfs
   1916, Chicago: George W. French — Joseph Reed Lane
   1920, Chicago: Alfred C. Mueller
   1924, Cleveland: Charles Grilk
   1928, Kansas City: George W. French — Joseph Reed Lane
   1932, Chicago: E. P. Adler
   1944, Chicago: Charles E. Wittenmeyer
   1956, San Francisco: Charles E. Wittenmeyer
   1960, Chicago: Charles E. Wittenmeyer
   1972, Miami Beach: Roger Jepsen — Jerry Parkin — Charles E. Wittenmeyer
   1992, Houston: David Karwoski — Barb Petri
   2004, New York: John Ortega — Luana Stoltenberg
   2008, St. Paul: David Hartsuch — John Ortega — Luana Stoltenberg
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/SC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]