The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Plymouth County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Plymouth County

Index to Locations

  • Adaville Pleasant Valley Cemetery
  • Le Mars Le Mars Cemetery

    Pleasant Valley Cemetery
    Adaville, Plymouth County, Iowa
    Politicians buried here:
      William Garner Waddel (1870-1937) — also known as W. G. Waddel — of Webster, Day County, S.Dak. Born in Grant County, Wis., June 29, 1870. Republican. Lawyer; Day County State's Attorney, 1913-16; member of South Dakota state senate 34th District, 1919-22. Methodist. Scottish and German ancestry. Member, Knights of Pythias. Died in Day County, S.Dak., January 24, 1937 (age 66 years, 209 days). Interment at Pleasant Valley Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of William Warren Waddle (1843-1912) and Elizabeth Ann (Garner) Waddle (1850-1935); brother of Fred Waddle (born1881); married, July 3, 1900, to Eliza Matilda Otis; fourth cousin of Howard B. Replogle and Luther Irvin Replogle; fourth cousin once removed of Henry Earl Replogle.
      Political family: Replogle family of Pennsylvania.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Le Mars Cemetery
    Le Mars, Plymouth County, Iowa
    Politicians buried here:
      Isaac S. Struble (1843-1913) — of Le Mars, Plymouth County, Iowa. Born near Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania County, Va., November 3, 1843. Republican. U.S. Representative from Iowa 11th District, 1883-91. Died February 17, 1913 (age 69 years, 106 days). Interment at Le Mars Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/PM-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]