The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Honolulu County

U.S. consular officials in Honolulu County

American or honorary foreign consuls in Honolulu County

   Honolulu: John C. Jones, Jr. (Agent for Commerce and Seamen 1820-28) — John C. Jones, Jr. (Commercial Agent 1828-39) — Peter A. Brinsmade (Agent for Commerce and Seamen 1838-41) — Peter A. Brinsmade (Consul 1841-49) — Joel Turrill (Consul 1845-48) — Alexander G. Abell (Consul 1845) — Elisha H. Allen (Consul 1849-53) — Benjamin F. Angel (Consul 1853-54) — Benjamin F. Angell (Consul 1853-54) — Darius A. Ogden (Consul 1854-57) — Abner Pratt (Consul 1857-60) — Alexander W. Bull (Consul 1860) — John A. Parker (Consul 1860-61) — Alfred Caldwell (Consul 1861-66) — Morgan L. Smith (Consul 1866) — Thomas F. Wilson (Vice Consul 1866) — Zephaniah S. Spalding (Consul 1868-69) — Thomas Adamson, Jr. (Consul 1869-70) — Jonathan S. Christie, Jr. (Vice Consul 1870-74) — Calvin S. Matoon (Consul 1870-74) — James Scott (Consul 1874-79) — William H. Peebles (Vice Consul 1874-75) — James Castle (Vice Consul 1875-76) — Theodorus B. Hascoll (Vice Consul 1876-77) — Frank P. Hastings (Vice & Deputy Consul 1877-86) — John M. Morton (Consul 1879-80) — John M. Morton (Consul General as of 1880) — David A. McKinley (Consul 1880-84) — John H. Putnam (Consul General 1885-89) — Frank P. Hastings (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1886-89) — Henry W. Severance (Consul General 1889-93) — Arthur W. Richardson (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1889-92) — W. Porter Boyd (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1892-99) — Ellis Mills (Consul General 1893-97) — William Haywood (Consul General 1897-99)
   Austria-Hungary: Frederick A. Schaefer (Consul in Honolulu 1898-1914)
   Belgium: Robert F. Lange (Vice Consul in Honolulu 1900-15) — Victor H. Lappe (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu 1920-27) — Victor H. Lappe (Honorary Consul in Honolulu 1927-44) — Charles Cooke Spalding (Honorary Consul in Honolulu 1959)
   Brazil: Antonio Daniel Castro (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Chile: J. W. Waldron (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Denmark: Henry R. Macfarlane (Consul in Honolulu 1883-1907) — Robert Benjamin Booth (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935) — Frank Elbert Midkiff (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1950)
   France: Jean Antoine Vizzavona (Honorary Consul in Honolulu 1901-07) — Auguste Marques (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1914-26) — Irving Otis Pecker (Consular Agent in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Germany: Robert F. Lange (Consul in Honolulu 1935-41)
   Great Britain: William Henry Baird (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Haiti: Robert W. Shingle (Consul in Honolulu as of 1931-35)
   Ireland: Noel Trainor (Honorary Consul in Waianae as of 2017)
   Italy: Frederick A. Schaefer (Consul in Honolulu 1868-1915)
   Latvia: McKinley Linder (Vice Consul in Honolulu as of 1929)
   Netherlands: C. A. Mackintosh (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Norway: Victor Cotta Schoenberg (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935) — Rolf Johan Westly (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1950)
   Panama: Augusto Márquez (Honorary Consul in Honolulu 1910-22)
   Peru: Bruce Cartwright (Consul in Honolulu 1891-1911) — L. A. R. Gaspar (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Portugal: Alberto Alves de Araujo (Honorary Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Spain: Luiz Fernandez Alvarez (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu 1900-07) — Thomas Farrington Sedgwick (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu as of 1921) — Irving Otis Pecker (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
   Sweden: Nils P. Larsen (Honorary Vice Consul in Honolulu as of 1935)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/HI/HO-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]