The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Georgia

U.S. District Attorneys for Georgia, 1789-1883 (may be incomplete!)
Matthew McAllister 1789-97 Charles Jackson 1797-98 George Woodruff 1798-1802 David Brydie Mitchell 1802-04 William B. Bulloch 1804-13 Charles Harris 1813-15 William Davies 1815-19 Richard W. Habersham 1819-27 Matthew H. McAllister 1827-35 Robert M. Charlton 1835-36 William H. Stiles 1836-38 John E. Ward 1838-39 Robert M. Charlton 1839-40 Solomon Cohen 1840-42 Alexander Drysdale 1842-44 Richard A. Cuyler 1844 Henry R. Jackson 1844 Henry Williams 1850-53 George S. Owens 1853-56 George A. Gordon 1856-57 Joseph Ganahl 1857-60 Hamilton Grouper 1860 Amos T. Akerman 1869-70 John D. Pope 1870-76 Henry P. Farrow 1876-80 John S. Bigby 1880-83

U.S. District Attorneys for Georgia, 1926-98 (may be incomplete!)
Bascom S. Deaver 1926-28 Scott Russell 1928-29 William A. Bootle 1929-33 T. Hoyt Davis 1933-45 John P. Cowart 1945-52 Jack J. Gautier 1952-53 Frank O. Evans 1953-61 Floyd M. Buford 1961-69 Walker P. Johnson, Jr. 1969 William J. Schloth 1969-74 Ronald T. Knight 1974-77 D. Lee Rampey, Jr. 1977-81 Joe D. Whitley 1981-87 Samuel A. Wilson 1987-88 Edgar William Ennis, Jr. 1988-93 Samuel A. Wilson, Jr. 1993 James L. Wiggins 1994-96 H. Randolph Aderhold 1996-97 Beverly Martin 1997-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Georgia, 1883-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Emory Speer 1883-85 Ben H. Hill, Jr. 1885-89 Sion A. Darnell 1889-93 Joseph S. James 1893-97 Edgar A. Angier 1897-1905 Farish C. Tate 1905-13 Hooper Alexander 1913-21 Clint W. Hager 1921-34 Lawrence S. Camp 1934-42 J. Ellis Mundy 1942 M. Neil Andrews 1942-46 J. Ellis Mundy 1946-53 James W. Dorsey 1953-59 Charles D. Read, Jr. 1959-61 Charles L. Goodson 1961-77 William L. Harper 1977-81 Robert J. Castellani 1981 Dorothy Y. Kirkley 1981 James E. Baker 1981-82 Larry D. Thompson 1982-86 Stephen S. Cowen 1986 Bob Barr 1986-90 Rimantas Rukstele 1990 Joe D. Whitley 1990-93 Gerrilyn G. Brill 1993 Kent B. Alexander 1994-97 Janet King 1997-98 Richard H. Deane, Jr. 1998

U.S. District Attorneys for Georgia, 1882-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Sion A. Darnell 1882-86 Dupont Guerry 1886-1901 Marion Erwin 1901-12 Alexander Akerman 1912-14 Erle M. Donalson 1914-19 John W. Bennett 1919-22 F. G. Boatright 1922-27 Charles L. Redding 1927-32 Walter W. Sheppard 1932-33 Charles L. Redding 1933 J. Saxton Daniel 1933-53 William C. Calhoun 1953-61 Donald H. Fraser 1961-69 R. Jackson B. Smith, Jr. 1969-77 William T. Moore, Jr. 1977-81 Hinton R. Pierce 1981-92 Jay D. Gardner 1992-94 Harry D. Dixon, Jr. 1994-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]