The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Georgia: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Georgia State Supreme Court, 1782-2008 (May be incomplete!)
Richard Howly as of 1782-83 George Walton 1783 Henry Osborne 1787-89 Eugenius A. Nisbet 1845-53 Hiram Warner 1845-53 Henry L. Benning 1853-59 E. A. Starnes 1853-55 Charles James McDonald 1855-59 Richard F. Lyon 1859-65 Linton Stephens 1859-60 Charles Jones Jenkins 1860-66 Iverson Louis Harris 1866-68 D. A. Walker 1866-68 Henry Kent McCay 1868-75 Hiram Warner 1868-72 W. W. Montgomery 1872-73 Robert Pleasant Trippe 1873-75 Logan E. Bleckley 1875-80 James Jackson 1875-80 Martin J. Crawford 1880-83 W. A. Hawkins 1880 Alex M. Speer 1880-82 Samuel Hall 1882-87 Mark Harden Blandford 1883-90 T. J. Simmons 1887-94 Samuel Lumpkin 1891-1903 S. R. Atkinson 1894-97 Andrew J. Cobb 1897-1907 William Hansell Fish 1897-1905 Henry T. Lewis 1897-1902 William A. Little 1897-1903 Samuel B. Adams 1902 John S. Candler 1902-06 Joseph R. Lamar 1903-05 Henry G. Turner 1903-04 Beverly D. Evans 1904-17 Marcus W. Beck 1905-37 Joseph H. Lumpkin II 1905-16 Samuel C. Atkinson 1906-42 Horace Holden 1907-11 H. Warner Hill 1911-34 S. Price Gilbert 1916-36 Walter F. George 1917-21 James K. Hines 1922-32 R. C. Bell 1932-43 John B. Hutcheson 1934-38 W. Frank Jenkins 1937-50 Warren Grice 1937-45 W. Henry Duckworth 1938-48 Samuel D. Hewlett 1942 Lee R. Wyatt 1943-60 William Y. Atkinson, Jr. 1943-53 Thomas S. Candler 1945-66 T. Grady Head 1945-65 R. C. Bell 1946-49 L. C. Groves 1948 Bond Almand 1949-69 J. Harold Hawkins 1949-60 Charles W. Worrill 1953-54 Homer Sutton 1954 W. Carlton Mobley 1954-72 Benning M. Grice 1960-74 Joseph D. Quillian 1960-66 J. Eugene Cook 1965-67 H. E. 'Nick' Nichols 1966-75 John E. Frankum 1967-70 Hiram K. Undercofler 1967-80 Jule W. Felton 1969-72 Peyton Hawes 1970-73 William B. Gunter 1972-77 Robert H. Jordan 1972-80 G. Conley Ingram 1973-77 Robert H. Hall 1974-79 Harold N. Hill, Jr. 1975-82 Jesse G. Bowles 1977-81 Thomas O. Marshall 1977-86 Harold G. Clarke 1979-89 H. E. 'Nick' Nichols 1980 Hiram K. Undercofler 1980-81 Hardy Gregory, Jr. 1981-89 George T. Smith 1981-91 Charles L. Weltner 1981-92 Richard Bell 1982-92 Willis B. Hunt, Jr. 1986-94 Robert Benham 1990-94 Norman S. Fletcher 1990-2001 Carol W. Hunstein 1992- Leah Ward Sears 1992-2005 George H. Carley 1993- Hugh P. Thompson 1994- P. Harris Hines 1995- Robert Benham 2001- Harold D. Melton 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1907 Oct 12: Horace Holden, appointed.
  • 1911 Oct 30: Horace Holden, resigned.
  • 1932 May 19: James K. Hines, died in office.
  • 1932 May 27: R. C. Bell, appointed.
  • 1934 Jan 13: H. Warner Hill, died in office.
  • 1934 Jan 22: John B. Hutcheson, appointed.
  • 1938 Oct 15: John B. Hutcheson, resigned.
  • 1938 Oct 16: W. Henry Duckworth, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]