The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Georgia: Chief Justices of the Supreme Court

Chief Justices of Georgia Supreme Court, 1780-2008 (May be incomplete!)
William Stephens 1780 Joseph H. Lumpkin 1845-67 Hiram Warner 1867-68 Joseph E. Brown 1868-70 O. A. Lochrane 1871-72 Hiram Warner 1872-80 James Jackson 1880-87 Logan E. Bleckley 1887-94 T. J. Simmons 1894-1905 William Hansell Fish 1905-22 Richard B. Russell 1923-38 Charles S. Reid 1938-43 R. C. Bell 1943-46 W. Frank Jenkins 1946-48 W. Henry Duckworth 1948-69 Bond Almand 1969-72 W. Carlton Mobley 1972-74 Benning M. Grice 1974-75 H. E. 'Nick' Nichols 1975-80 Hiram K. Undercofler 1980 Robert H. Jordan 1980-82 Harold H. Nill, Jr. 1982-86 Thomas O. Marshall 1986-89 Harold G. Clarke 1990-92 Charles L. Weltner 1992 Harold G. Clarke 1992-94 Willis B. Hunt, Jr. 1994-95 Robert Benham 1995-2001 Norman S. Fletcher 2001-05 Leah Ward Sears 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1887 Jan 13: James Jackson, died in office.
  • 1938 Dec 3: Richard B. Russell, died in office.
  • 1992 Aug 31: Charles L. Weltner, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/spcj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]