The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Georgia: Secretaries of State

Georgia Secretaries of State, 1777-2010 (May be incomplete!)
John Milton 1777-99 Horatio Marbury 1799-1811 Abner Hammond 1811-23 Everard Hamilton 1823-33 W. A. Tennille 1833-43 Nathan C. Barnett 1843-49 George W. Harrison 1849-51 Nathan C. Barnett 1851-53 E. P. Watkins 1853-61 Nathan C. Barnett 1861-68 David G. Cotting 1868-73 Nathan C. Barnett 1873-90 Philip Cook 1890-94 Allen D. Candler 1894-98 William Clifton 1898 Philip Cook 1898-1918 H. B. Strange 1918-19 S. G. McLendon 1919-28 George H. Carswell 1928-31 John B. Wilson 1931-46 Ben W. Fortson, Jr. 1946-79 David Poythress 1979-83 Max Cleland 1983-96 Lewis Massey 1996-98 Cathy Cox 1998-2007 Karen Handel 2007-10

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1894 May 21: Philip Cook, died in office.
  • 1928 Mar 8: S. G. McLendon, died in office.
  • 1946 Feb 22: John B. Wilson, died in office.
  • 1979 Jun 14: David Poythress, appointed.
  • 1996: Roger A. Wilson, defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Karen Handel (Rep), elected.
  • 2010 Jul 20: Gail Buckner (Dem), advanced to runoff; Georganna Sinkfield (Dem), advanced to runoff; Angela Moore (Dem), defeated in primary; Michael Mills (Dem), defeated in primary; Gary Horlacher (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Jul 20: Brian Kemp (Rep), nominated; Doug MacGinnitie (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Aug 10: Georganna Sinkfield (Dem), nominated; Gail Buckner (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Brian Kemp (Rep), elected; Georganna Sinkfield (Dem), defeated; David Chastain (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]