The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Georgia: State Attorneys General

Georgia State Attorneys General, 1776-2010 (May be incomplete!)
William Stephens 1776-80 William Stephens 1776 John Milledge 1780-81 Samuel Stirk 1781-85 Nathaniel Pendleton 1785-86 Matthew McAllister 1787-91 Thomas Petters Carnes 1789-92 David Brydie Mitchell 1795 John Forsyth 1808 Richard H. Wilde 1811-13 George Walker Crawford 1827 Richard W. Habersham 1830 Charles Jones Jenkins 1831 Henry P. Farrow 1868-72 Nathaniel J. Hammond 1872-77 Robert N. Ely 1877-80 Clifford Anderson 1880-90 George Nelson Lester 1890-92 William A. Little 1892 Joseph M. Terrell 1892-1902 Boykin Wright 1902 John G. Hart 1902-10 Hewlett A. Hall 1910-11 Thomas S. Felder 1911-14 Warren Grice 1914-15 Clifford M. Walker 1915-20 R. A. Denny 1920-21 George M. Napier 1921-32 Lawrence S. Camp 1932-33 Manning Jasper Yeomans 1933-39 Ellis Gibbs Arnall 1939-43 T. Grady Head 1943-45 J. Eugene Cook 1945-65 Arthur Key Bolton 1965-81 Michael J. Bowers 1981- Thurbert E. Baker 1997-2010

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892 Mar 30: George Nelson Lester, died in office.
  • 1932 May 4: George M. Napier, died in office.
  • 1997 Jun 1: Thurbert E. Baker, appointed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Thurbert E. Baker (Dem), elected.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Thurbert E. Baker (Dem), elected.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Thurbert E. Baker (Dem), elected.
  • 2010 Jul 20: Ken Hodges (Dem), nominated; Rob Teilhet (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Jul 20: Sam Olens (Rep), advanced to runoff; Preston W. Smith (Rep), advanced to runoff; Max Wood (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Aug 10: Sam Olens (Rep), nominated; Preston W. Smith (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Sam Olens (Rep), elected; Ken Hodges (Dem), defeated; Don Smart (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]