The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Clarke County

Clarke County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Clarke County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Clarke County: [none currently in database]

Clarke County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: A. A. Franklin Hill — William H. Hull
   1876, St. Louis: Henry H. Carlton
   1912, Baltimore: D. E. Fortson
   1916, St. Louis: J. H. Dozier
   1920, San Francisco: Andrew C. Erwin
   1924, New York: Andrew C. Erwin
   1928, Houston: Andrew C. Erwin — C. E. Martin
   1932, Chicago: Andrew C. Erwin
   1940, Chicago: Abit Nix
   1948, Philadelphia: May Erwin Talmadge
   1952, Chicago: May Erwin Talmadge
   1968, Chicago: Leon Farmer, Jr.
   1996, Chicago: John Barrow — Phyllis J. Barrow — Janet K. Pomeroy — Karin L. Stanford — Melba Williams
   2000, Los Angeles: John Barrow
   2004, Boston: Jennifer Kauffman — Brian Murray — Barbara A. Sims
   2008, Denver: Kenneth Dious — Christine P. Horan — David B. Jarrett — Gwen O'Looney
Republican National Conventions:
   1876, Cincinnati: Madison Davis — Richard S. Taylor
   1880, Chicago: Madison Davis — William A. Pledger — A. W. Watson
   1888, Chicago: Madison Davis — Monroe B. Morton — William A. Pledger
   1892, Minneapolis: Madison Davis — William A. Pledger
   1896, St. Louis: Monroe B. Morton
   1908, Chicago: W. H. Harris — Monroe B. Morton
   1912, Chicago: W. H. Harris — J. T. Johnson — Monroe B. Morton
   1916, Chicago: W. H. Harris — J. P. Watson
   1920, Chicago: W. H. Harris
   1924, Cleveland: W. H. Harris
   1928, Kansas City: W. H. Harris — William P. Harris
   1932, Chicago: James W. Arnold — W. H. Harris
   1936, Cleveland: James W. Arnold — William P. Harris
   1940, Philadelphia: James W. Arnold — W. G. Cornett
   1944, Chicago: R. B. Harris
   1960, Chicago: Guy B. Scott
   1972, Miami Beach: Bette Banister
   2004, New York: John L. Padgett
   2008, St. Paul: Regina Quick
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]