The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Florida: State Senate

Members of the Florida State Senate, 1839-2016 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1912: John S. Taylor, elected.
  • 1974: Pat Thomas (Dem), elected.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Tom Tobiassen (Rep), elected; Edmond M. Fortune (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Pat Thomas (Dem), nominated; Lenora Walsh (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Pat Thomas (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Buddy Mackay, Jr. (Dem), nominated; G. B. 'Cap' Wilson (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Buddy Mackay, Jr. (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Joe Carlucci (Dem), nominated; John R. Forbes (Dem), defeated in primary; Eric Smith (Dem), defeated in primary; Pauline Elizabeth Pierce (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Joe Carlucci (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1978 Sep 12: A. H. 'Gus' Craig (Dem), nominated; Buck Nilsson (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Richard H. Langley (Rep), advanced to runoff; Vince Fechtel, Jr. (Rep), advanced to runoff; Claude Smoak (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: Vince Fechtel, Jr. (Rep), nominated; Richard H. Langley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Vince Fechtel, Jr. (Rep), elected; A. H. 'Gus' Craig (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: N. Curtis Peterson, Jr. (Dem), nominated; Bob Grizzard (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: N. Curtis Peterson, Jr. (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1978 Sep 12: George Stuart, Jr. (Dem), advanced to runoff; Bill Fulford (Dem), advanced to runoff; J. B. Rodgers, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Johnny Bremer (Rep), nominated; Nick De Padova (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: George Stuart, Jr. (Dem), nominated; Bill Fulford (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: George Stuart, Jr. (Dem), elected; Johnny Bremer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Bill Beck (Dem), advanced to runoff; Glenn Turner (Dem), advanced to runoff; Woodrow Wilson Storey (Dem), defeated in primary; Nathan Z. Van Meter (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: Bill Beck (Dem), nominated; Glenn Turner (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Clark Maxwell, Jr. (Rep), elected; Bill Beck (Dem), defeated. John T. Ware (Rep), elected; Beverly Roberts (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Mary R. Grizzle (Rep), nominated; Dennis McDonald (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Mary R. Grizzle (Rep), elected; T. F. 'Tom' Thompson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Guy Spicola (Dem), nominated; Bruce Hutchcraft (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Guy Spicola (Dem), elected unopposed. Pat Frank (Dem), elected; David Ray (Rep), defeated. Patrick K. Neal (Dem), elected; Andrew Jackson (Rep), defeated. Harry Johnston (Dem), elected; Bill Riker (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Don C. Childers (Dem), nominated; John Scarola (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Don C. Childers (Dem), elected; B. E. 'Billie' Brooks (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Marcia Beach (Dem), advanced to runoff; Charles Mintz (Dem), advanced to runoff; Pam Strysick (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Van B. Poole (Rep), advanced to runoff; J. W. 'Bill' Stevens (Rep), advanced to runoff; Jim Howard (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: Marcia Beach (Dem), nominated; Charles Mintz (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: Van B. Poole (Rep), nominated; J. W. 'Bill' Stevens (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Van B. Poole (Rep), elected; Marcia Beach (Dem), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Ken Jenne (Dem), nominated; William G. Zinkil, Sr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Ken Jenne (Dem), elected; Ernette Haring (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Paul B. Steinberg (Dem), nominated; Elaine Bloom (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Paul B. Steinberg (Dem), elected; L. D. G. 'Lou' O'Hara (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Bob McKnight (Dem), nominated; Ralph R. Poston, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary; Ellen G. Allen (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Bob McKnight (Dem), elected; Don J. Gruber (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 12: Dick Anderson (Dem), advanced to runoff; John Spottswood, Jr. (Dem), advanced to runoff; Mike Simonhoff (Dem), defeated in primary; Charles C. Papy, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary; Ellis R. Gomez (Dem), defeated in primary; Paul Cobb (Dem), defeated in primary; Al DeMarco (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Oct 5: Dick Anderson (Dem), nominated; John Spottswood, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Dick Anderson (Dem), elected; Larry Wicks (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980: John L. Mica, defeated.
  • 1990: Charles T. Canady, defeated.
  • 1992: Buddy Dyer (Dem), elected.
  • 1996: Steven B. Feren (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1996: Pat Thomas (Dem), elected; Buddy Dyer (Dem), elected.
  • 2000: Buddy Dyer (Dem), elected.
  • 2006 Sep 5: Randall A. Terry (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2009 Aug 4: Josue Larose (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/stsen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]