The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Florida: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Florida State Supreme Court, 1846-1997 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas Baltzell 1846-50 Thomas Douglas 1846-50 George S. Hawkins 1846-50 George W. McRae 1847 Joseph B. Lancaster 1848-50 Walker Anderson 1851-53 Albert G. Semmes 1851-53 Leslie A. Thompson 1851-53 Benjamin D. Wright 1853 Thomas Baltzell 1854-60 Thomas Douglas 1854-55 Charles H. DuPont 1854-68 Bird M. Pearson 1856-59 William A. Forward 1860-65 David S. Walker 1860-65 James McNair Baker 1865-68 Augustus E. Maxwell 1865-66 Samuel J. Douglas 1866-68 Ossian B. Hart 1868-73 Edwin M. Randall 1868-85 James D. Westcott 1868-85 Franklin D. Fraser 1873-74 Robert B. Van Valkenburgh 1874-88 George G. McWhorter 1885-87 George P. Raney 1885-94 Augustus E. Maxwell 1887-91 Henry L. Mitchell 1888-90 R. Fenwick Taylor 1891-1925 Milton H. Mabry 1891-1903 Benjamin S. Liddon 1894-97 Francis B. Carter 1897-1905 Robert S. Cockrell 1902-17 Evelyn C. Maxwell 1902-04 Thomas M. Shackleford 1902-17 William A. Hocker 1903-15 James B. Whitfield 1904-43 Charles B. Parkhill 1905-11 William H. Ellis 1915-38 Jefferson B. Browne 1917-25 Thomas F. West 1917-25 William Glenn Terrell 1923-64 Armstead Brown 1925-46 Louie W. Strum 1925-31 Rivers H. Buford 1925-48 Fred H. Davis 1931-37 Roy H. Chapman 1937-52 Elwyn Thomas 1938-69 Alto Adams 1940-51 Harold L. Sebring 1943-55 Paul D. Barns 1946-49 T. Frank Hobson 1948-62 B. K. Roberts 1949-76 John E. Mathews 1951-55 E. Harris Drew 1952-71 Stephen C. O'Connell 1955-67 B. Campbell Thornal 1955-70 Millard F. Caldwell, Jr. 1962-69 Richard W. Ervin 1964-75 Alto Adams 1967-68 Wade L. Hopping 1968-69 James C. Adkins, Jr. 1969-87 Joseph A. Boyd, Jr. 1969-87 Vassar B. Carlton 1969-74 David L. McCain 1970-75 Hal P. Dekle 1971-75 Ben F. Overton 1974- Arthur J. England, Jr. 1975-81 Joseph W. Hatchett 1975-79 Alan C. Sundberg 1975-82 Frederick B. Karl 1977-78 James E. Alderman 1978-85 Parker Lee McDonald 1979-94 Raymond Ehrlich 1981-91 Leander J. Shaw, Jr. 1983- Rosemary Barkett 1985-94 Stephen H. Grimes 1987- Gerald Kogan 1987- Major B. Harding 1991- Harry Lee Anstead 1994- Charles T. Wells 1994-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1888: Charles Swayne (Rep), defeated.
  • 1888 Aug 1: Robert B. Van Valkenburgh, died in office.
  • 1890 Dec 31: Henry L. Mitchell, resigned.
  • 1891 Jan 1: R. Fenwick Taylor, appointed.
  • 1894 May 31: George P. Raney, resigned.
  • 1894 Jun 1: Benjamin S. Liddon, appointed.
  • 1897 Jan 6: Benjamin S. Liddon, resigned.
  • 1897 Jan 11: Francis B. Carter, appointed.
  • 1904 Feb 15: Evelyn C. Maxwell, resigned; James B. Whitfield, appointed.
  • 1905 May 25: Francis B. Carter, resigned; Charles B. Parkhill, appointed.
  • 1924: William M. Gober (Rep), defeated.
  • 1925 Dec 4: Rivers H. Buford, appointed.
  • 1955: Stephen C. O'Connell, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]