The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dakota: Territorial Council

Members of the Dakota Territorial Council, 1862-89 (May be incomplete!)
H. D. Betts 1862-63 John W. Boyle 1862-63 D. T. Bramble 1862-63 Wilmot W. Brookings 1862-63 Austin Cole 1862-63 Jacob S. Deuel 1862-63 J. Shaw Gregory 1862-66 J. McFetridge 1862-63 John H. Shober 1862-63 Enos Stutsman 1862-66 Lasse Bothun 1863-65 D. P. Bradford 1863-65 Hugh Compton 1863-65 George W. Kingsbury 1863-67 John Mathers 1863-65 M. M. Rich 1863-65 James M. Stone 1863-65 Franklin Taylor 1863-65 J. O. Taylor 1863-65 John J. Thompson 1863-67 Moses K. Armstrong 1865-67 Austin Cole 1865-67 Charles La Breeche 1865-76 Nathaniel Ross 1865-67 O. F. Stevens 1865-67 John W. Turner 1865-67 A. Van Osdal 1865-67 Knud Weeks 1865-67 A. G. Fuller 1866-67 J. A. Lewis 1866-69 D. M. Mills 1866-68 Horace J. Austin 1867-69 W. W. Benedict 1867-69 Wilmot W. Brookings 1867-69 Aaron A. Carpenter 1867-69 Hugh Fraley 1867-71 R. R. Green 1867-69 A. H. Hampton 1867-69 George W. Kellogg 1867-69 Charles H. McIntyre 1867-73 C. F. Rossteuscher 1867-69 R. I. Thomas 1867-68 Norris J. Wallace 1868-69 B. E. Wood 1868-69 Moses K. Armstrong 1870-71 Jacob Brauch 1870-71 William M. Cuppett 1870-71 J. C. Kennedy 1870-71 Silas W. Kidder 1870-71 W. T. McKay 1870-72 Nelson Miner 1870-73 Emery Morris 1870-71 James M. Stone 1870-71 John W. Turner 1870-71 D. T. Bramble 1872-73 H. P. Cooley 1872-73 J. P. Cooley 1872-73 E. B. Crew 1872-73 J. D. Flick 1872-73 J. Geehon 1872-73 G. W. Harlan 1872 Alexander Hughes 1872-73 John Lawrence 1872-76 Joseph Mason 1872-73 Henry Smith 1872-73 O. F. Stevens 1872-76 Enos Stutsman 1872-73 Horace J. Austin 1874-76 Jacob Brauch 1874-76 Philip Chandler 1874-76 Benton Fraley 1874-76 G. W. Harlan 1874-76 John L. Jolley 1874-76 A. McHench 1874-78 M. Pace 1874-76 M. W. Sheafe 1874-76 C. S. West 1874-76 Erastus A. Williams 1874-76 M. W. Bailey 1877-78 Henry S. Black 1877-78 Walter A. Burleigh 1877-78 William Duncan 1877-78 Hans Gunderson 1877-78 Judson La Moure 1877-78 A. J. Mills 1877-78 Nelson Miner 1877-79 Richard F. Pettigrew 1877-79 J. A. Potter 1877-78 C. B. Valentine 1877-80 J. A. Wallace 1877-78 Robert Wilson 1877-78 William M. Cuppett 1879-80 Merritt H. Day 1879-82 Newton Edmunds 1879-80 Ira Ellis 1879-80 William L. Kuykendall 1879-80 Robert McNider 1879-80 S. G. Roberts 1879-80 Silas Rohr 1879-80 George H. Walsh 1879-86 H. B. Wynn 1879-80 L. J. Allerd 1881-82 Ira W. Fisher 1881-82 John Rankin Gamble 1881-82 G. P. Harvey 1881-82 D. M. Inman 1881-82 John L. Jolley 1881-82 J. A. J. Martin 1881-82 Nelson E. Nelson 1881-82 J. B. Scobey 1881-84 Amos F. Shaw 1881-82 P. R. Smith 1881-82 J. F. Wallace 1881-82 John Walsh 1881-82 G. W. Wiggin 1881-82 John R. Wilson 1881-82 F. N. Burdick 1883-84 William P. Dewey 1883-84 J. R. Jackson 1883-84 H. A. Jerauld 1883-84 E. McCauley 1883-84 C. H. McIntosh 1883-84 Johnson Nickeus 1883-86 S. G. Roberts 1883-84 Frank J. Washabaugh 1883-89 Francis Marion Ziebach 1883-84 C. D. Austin 1885-86 A. M. Bowdle 1885-86 C. H. Cameron 1885-86 J. P. Day 1885-86 William Duncan 1885-86 George R. Farmer 1885-86 John Flittie 1885-86 John Rankin Gamble 1885-86 A. C. Huetson 1885-86 A. Sheridan Jones 1885-86 V. P. Kennedy 1885-86 Judson La Moure 1885-86 P. J. McLaughlin 1885-86 Herman H. Natwick 1885-86 Richard F. Pettigrew 1885-86 Charles Richardson 1885-86 A. B. Smedley 1885-86 D. H. Twomey 1885-86 B. R. Wagner 1885-86 S. P. Wells 1885-88 J. H. Westover 1885-86 Roger Allin 1887-89 T. O. Bogert 1887-88 John Cain 1887-88 A. W. Campbell 1887-89 William T. Collins 1887-88 W. E. Dodge 1887-88 P. C. Donovan 1887-88 Edward C. Ericson 1887-89 E. W. Foster 1887-88 H. Galloway 1887-88 Melvin Grigsby 1887-88 G. A. Harstad 1887-89 Alexander Hughes 1887-89 J. D. Lawler 1887-88 T. M. Martin 1887-88 George Arthur Mathews 1887-88 Porter J. McCumber 1887-88 C. D. Mead 1887-88 Charles H. Sheldon 1887-88 E. T. Sheldon 1887-88 E. G. Smith 1887-88 Ellison G. Smith 1887 J. S. Weiser 1887-88 Ireneus Atkinson 1889 Peter Cameron 1889 M. H. Cooper 1889 Coe I. Crawford 1889 Robert Dollard 1889 S. L. Glaspell 1889 James Halley 1889 Robert Lowry 1889 Hugh McDonald 1889 John Miller 1889 J. H. Pattern 1889 David W. Poindexter 1889 Joseph C. Ryan 1889 C. A. Soderberg 1889 Smith Stimmel 1889 A. L. Van Osdel 1889 George H. Walsh 1889 James A. Woolheiser 1889

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1879: Nelson Miner, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DK/ofc/trcn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]