The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Delaware

U.S. District Judges for Delaware, 1789-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Gunning Bedford, Jr. 1789-1812 John Fisher 1812-23 Edward G. Bradford 1871-84 Edward G. Bradford II 1897-1918 Hugh Martin Morris 1919-30 John P. Nields 1930-41 Paul Conway Leahy 1942-57 Richard Seymour Rodney 1946-57 Caleb M. Wright 1955-73 Edwin DeHaven Steel, Jr. 1958-69 Walter K. Stapleton 1970-85 Murray Merle Schwartz 1974-89 Joseph J. Farnan 1985-2010 Roderick R. McKelvie 1992-2002 Gregory M. Sleet 1998-2017 Leonard Philip Stark 2010-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1812 Mar 30: Gunning Bedford, Jr., died in office.
  • 1823 Apr 22: John Fisher, died in office.
  • 1884 Jan 16: Edward G. Bradford, died in office.
  • 1918 May 20: Edward G. Bradford II, retired.
  • 1930 Jun 30: Hugh Martin Morris, resigned.
  • 1941 Sep 30: John P. Nields, took senior status.
  • 1957 Jan 1: Richard Seymour Rodney, took senior status.
  • 1957 Oct 7: Paul Conway Leahy, took senior status.
  • 1969 Dec 30: Edwin DeHaven Steel, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1973 Oct 8: Caleb M. Wright, took senior status.
  • 1989 Jul 24: Murray Merle Schwartz, took senior status.
  • 2002 Jun 28: Roderick R. McKelvie, resigned.
  • 2010 Jul 31: Joseph J. Farnan, retired.
  • 2017 May 1: Gregory M. Sleet, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]